Home » Cycling » The Dreaded Sky Cycling Skin Kit… Look at the Bright Side…

The Dreaded Sky Cycling Skin Kit… Look at the Bright Side…


If you haven’t seen a pic of Chris Froome in the new Sky skin suit, fear not, I’m not going to post it here… As the Ragtime Cyclist pointed out, some things you just can’t un-see.

That said, if you’re scratching your head trying to figure out why, for the love of GOD!  I have good news…

Folks, I’m here to tell you, Froome isn’t wearing that because it looks good – on a guy.

Nope, I could see this one coming from a hundred miles away, just couldn’t figure out how they were going to introduce it:  How do you increase male participation in women’s cycling, thereby growing the sport so that women can enjoy the perks and pay that the guys do?  You’re never going to reach enough men through trying to shame them – those who would respond to that have their wallets held by their wives anyway.  You’ll never increase excitement in women’s cycling through guilt trips and accusations of sexism or by pointing out that it’s unfair (of course it is, but I don’t see any women burning their bras over the fact that a female model makes roughly five times that of a male – I’ll supply the lighter and lighter fluid, you just tell me where to show up).

Sky is blazing the trail for women.  Those skin suits are meant for the ladies.

And the cool thing is that it’ll work.

Now, before we get too feverish about this, the fact that the pro ladies will end up in sheer and semi-sheer cycling wear does not mean that you will be required to wear the same stuff on your club rideYou certainly won’t find me running out to buy the new Sky kit.  I’m sexy alright, but damn!

Now, to take one for the team, I did a ton of research on sheer women’s clothing to see if I could find something to add to this post – but most of it, while awesome, just wasn’t appropriate for my blog.

Hey, on that note, when did they start making those micro-bikinis?  Holy Moses.

Back on point…  For the ladies who get fired up about the fact that ladies cycling is under-represented, you’re going to get what you want.  Sadly, I doubt you’ll be too happy about how they’re going to go about evening things up.  You’ll have to suck it up though, because I’m here to tell you right now, without sexing the sport up a bit, it simply isn’t going to happen.  You may not like it, but you know darn good and well that I’m right.

6 Comments

  1. I’m liking this post because you didn’t show it! I googled it and Ragtime is right – some things cannot be unseen; HIllary in her pants suits, pajama boy with his cocoa and now this. . . .

  2. I was simply highlighting a fashion faux pas…you’ve ramped this debate up another level (brave boy)! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,065 other followers

