Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » 1990 Cannondale SR400 Criterium – My pride and joy

1990 Cannondale SR400 Criterium – My pride and joy

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

I’ve said it before, I’m cheap.  Not so much because I don’t want nice stuff, but because my priorities are spread between my wife an kids too, so i simply don’t want to afford a brand new Madone…  It just is what it is.  With that, I picked up my road bike – which I absolutely love – on Craigslist for $300 – it sold for $800 new.

1990 Cannondale Criterium

The only thing I’ve changed since buying the bike is changing the bar tape to red and switching the WB Cages to red plastic…  I love this bike.

UPDATE:  Uh oh…  I just went over to Assenmacher’s and got a real bike fit…  As it turns out, and this is almost too funny, my Cannondale was set up just about as perfectly as it could be setting aside the seat tube is a full 1.5 cm too short, the top tube is 4 cm too short (which means I have a hard time getting comfortable and I can’t stretch out enough).  He put me on a  Trek carbon bike with an Ultegra grouppo for a test ride…with an aero wheel set…  Uh, yeah.  I’m going 20 mph working my tail off when I could be going 25 working that hard.  What an awesome bike.  It’s going to be time to move up…  Technically I’ll keep the Cannondale for training (might as well feel like I’m stepping on a Ferrari when I get to racing).

UPDATE:  I’ve updated this bike with new rear wheels that came off of my ’13 Specialized Venge.  The dropouts took some work, but not because the wheels didn’t fit – they were snug but did fit (and a little bit of cold setting which is not recommended) but was made to work and for less than $50.  I probably dropped 1 pound per wheel with the upgrade.  I kept the original 7 sp. components.  The Cannodale shall, at least for the near future, be an old school bike.

UPDATE #2:  As the Cannondale is today:
IMG_6774
Added a nicer saddle, years ago, lowered the front end, added a longer stem to match my reach, had the rear triangles spread and realigned for new 10 sp. wheels (in case I ever want to upgrade it to brifters, though that’s doubtful) and redid the bars in black tape for a more classic look (and to match the wheels/saddle).

8 Comments

  1. […] This is a frame, it is not a full bike ‘model’ as it were. This fact threw me for a loop at first too, so if you searched for the marking on the bike, and ended up on this post, your next task is to figure out which model your Criterium frame goes to… My wife’s is an RS-400 from 1990. […]

  2. Ben says:

    Hey ,nice bike!After looking at all new ones you know the ones over 1000$ I decided just to keep mine! I am looking to trade my 60cm(same color as yours ) for a 58 cm 3.0 criterium frame all white 1990 preferred!Anybody??I am in NJ.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Thanks Ben… It’s actually my wife’s now. I picked up a ’99 Trek 5200 and am infinitely happier with it. The Cannondale was too small and too stiff. Carbon wheels and a carbon fork would do wonders for it.

  3. […] took my Cannondale SR-400 to the shop to see if I could get it upgraded from down tube shifters.  My local shop wanted $400 […]

  4. […] couple of years ago I ran over my Cannondale SR-400 with my Ford Escape.  I didn’t bump it or nudge it, I ran that thing over.  Fortunately the […]

  5. […] 1990 Cannondale SR400 Criterium – My pride and joy […]

  6. John Soltanas says:

    I recently came across one that was being thrown away and saved it from going into the metal scrap dumpster. Mine is identical to the blue & white shown. It is complete just has minor oxidation on some of the components and looking forward in getting back to the street again.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Nice! I’m going to upgrade mine to Shimano 105 10 speed for my daughter in the next year or two… She’s outgrowing her 8 month old brand new Specialized Dolce.

Leave a Reply

