Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » …Because it beats whining that I wish I would’ve come June.

…Because it beats whining that I wish I would’ve come June.

March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

My friends and I put in just shy of fifty miles yesterday.  Today was to be right around forty, but it was cold.  The mercury was just peaking its head out of the bubble when I woke up this morning:  17 degrees (F or -8 C) though I could see the skies were fairly clear and we weren’t scheduled to start until 9:30 am…  Maybe we’d get lucky and it would warm up in a hurry.

No such luck.  It was a balmy 19 when we were unloaded the bikes.  The wind started whipping before we hit mile ten.  The sun was out, thankfully, but it stayed cold.  The. Whole. Damn. Ride.  

I on my Venge and Mrs. Bgddy on her Alias, we cranked out just over 38-1/2 miles in 2-1/2 hours.

With the sun out, even though it was 15 degrees colder than yesterday, it wasn’t all that bad, actually more enjoyable than yesterday when it was so cloudy we had to resort to clear glasses.

We finished just after noon – and it was still only 27 degrees (-2 C).

I very well could have stayed in bed this morning and whined about the cold…   Then I could have whined this summer about not getting enough miles in over the spring when they’re “easy”.  Call it compound whining.

Instead, I got to get 38 miles in with my wife and five of my friendsBecause it sure beats whining that I could have put in the miles come June when the real riding is in full swing.

10 Comments

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    Always good to get out ad I have found whining usually doesn’t help anything in life. 🙂

  2. Thought of you this morning, the hubby, kids and I rode our beach cruisers to breakfast. Fun way to start the day and feel earth friendly too, lol. Where do you live? Brrrrrrrr!!!!! I feel guilty that we were in shorts, flip flops & T’s.

  3. We want to hear about what you did to warm up afterwards.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Sorry brother, this is not that kind of blog. Even if it was, we put everything away, I took a shower, then took my daughter to pick up one of her friends and we all went out to lunch and followed that up with a few games of bowling – I bowl on a sober league (596 – 214, 182, 200 – not including handicap of course).

  4. I rode in shorts Saturday. heh heh heh heh heh heh

Leave a Reply

