Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » First Two-A-Day of the Season, Already…

First Two-A-Day of the Season, Already…

April 2015
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Yesterday we had a ride scheduled for 9 am, starting in Fenton, heading due south until we looped around the GM Proving Grounds in Milford, then straight back – fifty miles, or thereabouts.  The wind was out of the west so we had crosswinds for darn-near fifty miles – till we looped the proving grounds…  At that point it was dead into the wind and up one of the steepest hills I’ll see in this part of Michigan.  

Thankfully we had sweet sunshine and the temps quickly warmed from the low 40’s to a reasonable 50.  Unfortunately, the roads needed to get there were two things that don’t mix:  busy and destroyed over the winter.  It’s amazing we only had one pinch flat the whole ride.  In fact, the roads were so bad that what should have been a blast of a ride, wasn’t fun.  Between trying to dodge potholes that you could fit a Smart car in and real cars, it kinda sucked.

Yeah, you could fit one in a pothole.

On the other hand, most of the time we’re lucky if we can find a few hundred feet of elevation gain in 50 miles.  We were well over 1,200 feet on this one (may have been 1,800 – I was pretty smoked after and not really listening).  In other words, because I love the climbing, that ride should have been right up my alley. 

Let’s just leave it at this; the roads and traffic were was so bad my buddy Mike called on the way home and we both agreed we’d never do that route again.  We also both agreed that we are spoiled with fantastic roads to cycle on, right out our front doors.

That wasn’t all for the day though.  Mrs. Bgddy and I went out for a 15-1/2 mile ride just an hour after I pulled into the driveway.  We stopped by the shop to check out the Trek Fest sale but the shop was so busy, we didn’t stick around long.  

Finally, as this is published, I’ll be getting ready for the Sunday morning ride – 37 more miles to make it around 103 for the weekend. By the time we ride, it’ll already be warmer than it was yesterday when my wife and I went to the shop.  I’m so fired up I can hardly stand it.  This is one of my favorite days of the spring – I usually have to play hooky from work.  Instead, I get to spend a Sunday morning cruising with my wife and friends.

Doesn’t get much better than that. 

UPDATE:  Now that’s what I’m talking about.  A perfect Spring day.

  

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

