Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » A Fitting End to a Perfect April…

A Fitting End to a Perfect April…


We had rain yesterday morning so I didn’t think I’d be able to ride, but lo and behold, the clouds dried up, the wind picked up, and the temp warmed up.

When it’s windy, this is one of the best bikes for it…

It wasn’t the prettiest.  Into the wind was absolutely brutal, but I got low in the drops, ducked my head and hammered away.  Normally I would call it at sixteen miles on a Thursday.  I’ve got 145 miles planned for today through Sunday, but I just happened to look at Endomondo in the morning to see where I was for the month…

And it’s a good thing I did…
700 miles, on the nose.  In April?!  (That’s 1,126 km for you folks everywhere else in the world but the US and England).  Took me just a shade over an hour to get ‘er done.

Puts a smile on my face just thinking about it.  700 miles for a month that I’ve averaged 450 in the past three years.  It shows in my attitude too.  To write that I’m feeling good would be an understatement.

6 Comments

  1. Great achievement. Great to love cycling so much.

  2. PedalWORKS says:

    That’s remarkable given you have had bad weather, two businesses to run, a wife to please, and kids to tend. Well done! I did 800 km and thought that was good but I only work part-time, my kids are fully grown and my wife needs no pleasing.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Ah, but my wife rides with me two or three days a week… We spend time together and stay fit at the same time. Not to mention, my wife rocks (!) and likes me a lot more when I get to ride. We’re winning so much, Charlie Sheen would be jealous. 😆

      It’s all about waking up at 4 am. If I stick to that, I can fit everything. I start waking up at 5 (or, God forbid, 6) and I’m hit. No chance of things working right.

      Thank you though, the compliment is greatly appreciated.

  3. Sheree says:

    Congratulations, certainly puts me to shame.

Leave a Reply

