Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Holy Moly…  My Best Week Evah, By A LOT!

Holy Moly…  My Best Week Evah, By A LOT!


It was a perfect day for a bike ride.

My buddy Mike was sick this morning, still.  Poor guy couldn’t handle 17 mph into the breeze (maybe 7 mph) so he cut out after just ten miles.  That left me, Chuck and Phil.  Three guys and the goal was a 100k out to Lainsburg and back.  Chuck was an animal and took 3-4 mile turns at the front.  I kept it to 3 miles each turn and Phill rounded us out with 1-2 miles each.  

Unlike last week, we ate the wind going out so we could have the help on the way back and that plan worked out just fine.

Still, I won’t lie, it was a lot more enjoyable heading out there than it was coming home.  The wind was not a big deal and when we got to our party store, our destination, we weren’t at 31 miles.  We had 35 in.

Long story short, because I’m freakin’ wiped out, we did take a shortcut and managed to knock a whole two miles off of the return trip so we pulled in at 68 miles, not 62.  And we hit every hill there was between Gaines and Lainsburg.  Roller after roller, and we hit them fast.  I never once shifted out of the big ring (as it should be unless there’s a “Mount” before the name of the hill).

Interestingly, I bonked with about eight miles to go.  It started with an “Uh oh, I’m screwed.” It took everything I had to not slip off the back and soft-pedal home.  I won’t publish the committee meeting that went on in my melon because it was simply wall-to-wall cursing at the members who voted for calling it quits.  I didn’t give up.  I pushed through it and finished strong, snot dripping from my nose and utterly done.  Cooked.  Stick a fork in me.

I fell asleep before I even took a shower.  Before I even ate anything.  Absolutely smoked.

68 miles, 3h:34m, and daddy’s eatin’ good tonight.

   
  
Most important, this was my week:   

252 miles in one full week.  Do the math, that’s 36 miles a day.  I’m pretty stoked – and thankful that tomorrow is a slow day… 37 miles and it should take us a little more than two hours.

That’s better than my previous best week by, oh, about 30 or 40 miles, give or take.  Nice.

14 Comments

  1. bribikes says:

    That’s some awesome cycling right there.

  2. Kecia says:

    What an awesome week of riding!! What is the difference between the orange bike and the red bike on your app?

    • bgddyjim says:

      I’m not understanding the question Kecia.

      The Trek and the Venge? In which app?

      • Kecia says:

        The picture above of your mileage. I get it now 😉

      • bgddyjim says:

        Ah! The red is “cycling sport”. The orange is “cycling transport”. I generally use transport when I have a destination or am not pushing it. Sport is reserved for those rides when I put the hammer down. Technically, that should have been more evenly matched. Yesterday was a “sport day” with a destination but I was too tired to re-enter it. 😜

      • Kecia says:

        Makes sense now. I wasn’t sure if it was a way to keep track of different bikes or different style riding. 😉

  3. Good time! I did 67 miles Friday morning and it took me a few minutes longer — I was riding by myself and had a wicked crosswind the entire ride. Can’t wait for a calm day with real sunshine!

  4. Dan In Iowa says:

    RIDE to eat!! The problem is that I eat anyway. After my 70 miles yesterday I wanted protein for some reason. I got some carbs, but those left over, grilled chicken breasts called my name!! Great week of riding there my friend!

Leave a Reply

