Fit Recovery

Home » Recovery » Explaining the Mental Obsession of Alcoholism, for those Who Aren’t Alcoholics…  In 30 Seconds (Or Less)

Explaining the Mental Obsession of Alcoholism, for those Who Aren’t Alcoholics…  In 30 Seconds (Or Less)


Many people wonder what possesses an alcoholic to drink like we do, why we can’t just “stop”…  Here’s a vastly oversimplified explanation:

Before I quit, I had a devil on one shoulder and an angel on the other.  

The angel was powerless over the devil.  The devil always won.  In turn, I was powerless over that little red bastard.

Working a program of recovery simply gave the angel a 9mm with a fifteen round clip.  

The reality, of course, was a little more complex.  I had a whole committee running around in my melon and once I started entertaining the thought of getting drunk, an argument ensued.  The “let’s get hammered” caucus overpowered everything else.  When I sobered up, I learned how to develop new Kung Fu against that caucus.  Eventually, through A LOT of practice, I learned how to discard that initial thought as useless garbage, rendering the “let’s get hammered caucus” impotent.

I learned how to win…  And it’s worked for decades.  The “devil” side still rears its ugly head every now and again, tries to pry its way into the discussion every now and again but the good side’s Kung Fu is strong.

I will never claim that I won’t drink tomorrow, but I won’t today.  As long as tomorrow never gets here, I’m good (and it never does, not if I’m working in recovery).

Simple as that, and we learn early on:  Keep It Simple Stupid.

8 Comments

  1. But here is something that most recocered alcoholics or addicts forget, you actually had the insight, realization and mental strength at one point in your life that drinking/addiction is not the way of life that you want to pursue. This takes a lot of strength, too because most alcoholics stay right where they are, care only about themselves and don’t give a hoot about the damage they do to others. So kudoz for getting out of that downward spiral in the first place and sticking with the better life. 😊

    • bgddyjim says:

      While I do appreciate the kind words, I can’t take too much credit for much. The People of the State of Michigan helped make my decision a little easier. 😜

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    Bravo! Well said Jim and I continue to cheer in your corner every day. You are an inspiration pure and simple.

  3. EpicGran says:

    Keep inspiring Jim!

  4. Like you, I have learned that we can only control today. Live for today and let someone else worry about tomorrow.

  5. browney237 says:

    Inspiring post and not for the first time.

Leave a Reply

