Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » What’s the Number One Rule for Buying a Bike?  I Broke It, For My Wife… That’s Love, Baby.

What’s the Number One Rule for Buying a Bike?  I Broke It, For My Wife… That’s Love, Baby.


“Hey, honey, it feels like I have a vibration when I use my front brake, can you take it for a spin and confirm I’m not crazy?”

And so it begins.

The number one rule for buying a bike:  Don’t ride anything better than what you can afford to buy.  Ever.  Well, my little tale of woe came about a little differently, I wasn’t shopping for a bike, I was taking my wife’s Alias for a test spin to look into a pulsation in the brakes (almost always a wobble in the wheel as it was in this case)…

Folks, I’ve written more than a few posts in which I go into great detail about just how comfortable my Venge is.  I’ve described it as the perfect blend of stiffness and comfort.  I had a great bike to base my opinion on as well…  My 5200 is way stiffer than my Venge.

Then I rode my wife’s Alias for the first time the other day.  Same 10r carbon fiber, components, wheels, darn near the same bike, but the Alias is a ton more forgiving.  My word, I was on a crappy chip-seal road and that bike made it feel like glass.  My whole body was saying, “Dude, you need to be riding something like this.”

So here I am, trying feverishly to remove any thought of riding that bike from memory.  Trying not to think about how plush that ride was…  Dammit.

While I will not change my posts, especially my two reviews of my Venge, compared to my wife’s Alias, it’s pretty stiff.  I’m going to try to get by on the fact that I always made sure to qualify the ride characteristics with “for a race bike”.  “It’s not too stiff, for a race bike”, etc.

This is why I’ve always stuck by the rule:  Never ride what you can’t afford.  Cycling is far more enjoyable when I don’t know what I’m missing.

14 Comments

  1. bribikes says:

    Haha, I think you made a misstep in writing down your experience though, this post only confirms in your mind what you felt while out on the Alias. Now you are going to need double the brain washing to forget!

    • bgddyjim says:

      Ah, but not if this is part of the letting go process! I’ve confessed my mistake to the blogosphere to help others. Now I can let it go. It’s all a matter of perspective. 😀

  2. 25mm tyres on Ra Venge?

  3. EpicGran says:

    Life is short, buy the bike! LOL.

  4. PedalWORKS says:

    There is always room for another bike. I have posted before about my 35 year old Roberts steel frame bike. It’s not the fastest but it is the most comfortable ride I have ever experienced. I run it with 25 mm tires inflated to ~ 100 psi and it rolls like a dream. I must say I am glad I don’t have your problem. i would never hear the end of it from my wife 🙂

  5. Sheree says:

    I’m lucky that my husband has never ridden my BMC. Doesn’t know what he’s missing and I’d like to keep it that way!

Leave a Reply

