Fit Recovery

Home » Uncategorized » How I’m working on my ‘Live to Eat’ tendencies

How I’m working on my ‘Live to Eat’ tendencies


This is truly an excellent piece that describes vividly how some grapple with food. I am what Tanya calls a person who eats to live. She used to live to eat. An incredibly insightful post.

90in9

Every now and then I think about the difference between people who “eat to live” and those who “live to eat.” Regardless of how much food either group consumes over the course of the day, I think the true difference lies in how much time the second group – myself included – spends thinking about food.

Banishing M&Ms from my food universe has freed up a lot of brain space. I am not joking. It's kind of scary how much time I probably spent agonizing over this nonessential food.Banishing M&Ms from my food universe has freed up a lot of brain space. I am not joking. It’s kind of scary how much time I probably spent agonizing over this nonessential food.

As a food addict, I know I’ve spent big chunks of days thinking about eating, whether consciously, in terms of a great meal I’d had or was anticipating having,  or unconsciously – the background noise of food-related stress that kicks in whenever there’s guilt to be processed or if there’s any uncertainty about what or when I’m going to eat.

I…

View original post 502 more words

Leave a Reply

