Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » The Serfas Back Pocket Tool/Tube Pouch

The Serfas Back Pocket Tool/Tube Pouch


I wrote what I thought was a very humorous post on my cycling anniversary about how my Venge evolved from the day I brought it home.  In that post there was a photo of my Venge with a saddle bag on it…  The caption read “I just can’t stand my bike looking like a Ballchinian”.  I hated how my bike looked with a saddle bag on it…  Hate is a powerful word and it is used in that last sentence properly.

Since, I’ve carried my tube, CO2 and tire levers loose in my back pocket.  Emergency cash too.  What I hated about that setup was that my cash was always soggy and I was embarrassed to present it to a cashier.  My $30 multi-tool rusted too.  If that weren’t enough (and it was), with everything sitting askew in my back pocket, riding was less comfortable.  Still, that was better than a Ballchinian bike.

Then one day out of the blue, I walked into my local shop and saw a back pocket pouch that I had to have:

  
The pouch has just enough space to fit everything (including my car key if I need it).  Cash, tube, CO2, tire levers, spoke tool – everything I might need out on the road…

After:
_MAS0990

Before:

I just can't stand my bike looking like a Ballchinian.

I just can’t stand my bike looking like a Ballchinian.

So, I get the best of both worlds!  My bike looks fantastic (as it should), I can still carry all of my tools, money, key, credit card and driver’s license without getting any of them soggy and the pouch is small enough that it doesn’t put too much of a strain on the elastic in the pocket.

Getting this sorted was a major pain in my butt for a long time.  I’m glad it’s finally over and solved.

9 Comments

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    That does look like the perfect solution. I have never seen a pouch like it.

  2. MJ Ray says:

    Another benefit: if it’s padded nicely, you’re less likely to injure your back if you land on it in a crash than if you have loose metal objects in your pockets.

  3. Wow, I am surprised, all that extra weight 😜

  4. Having loose bits of metal in my back pocket is one of the main reasons I don’t stuff my spares in there, but that pouch looks like the perfect solution! I’ve never seen anything like that in a bike shop, might have to start searching online. I currently use a tool tube in my second bottle cage.

  5. […] put a saddle bag (or seat bag as they’re sometimes called, thank you Matt) on my Venge.  I had one on the bike and it looked like a Ballchinian from Men in Black.  I can’t live with […]

Leave a Reply

