Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » If Cycling in Bad Weather makes One a Bad@$$, what About…

If Cycling in Bad Weather makes One a Bad@$$, what About…


If you’re a cyclist, you’ve probably heard about “The Rules”.  If you’re an avid  cyclist, you probably follow most of them.

One thing is for sure; if you do, you look good and ride hard.

The problem with the rules, if there must be one, is that if one takes them too seriously one can become a bit of a elitist snob.  If that’s you, please see Rule #43.

When I look at the rules, I look at them as a tongue-in-cheek guide to cycling etiquette – as long as one understands that the rules are a bit like government, or laws (at least in the Industrialized First World sense – meaning laws tend to be limiting to freedom because it’s impossible to follow them all.  In an a well-intentioned way, the Rules/Laws become a restrictive noose.):  If you like clones, automatons, or worse, bureaucrats or if you want to be a friendless loser, inflexibly in requiring others to follow the rules is great.  

With that out of the way, there are a few rules that are simple statements of truth.  I’m thinking of #5 (HTFU) and more important to this post:  Rule #9 If you are out riding in bad weather, it means you are a badass. Period.

My wife did a sprint triathlon yesterday.  The only time it was not pouring rain was during the swim.  The irony was awesome.  The air temp was 67 degrees.  Water temp was 74.  800 yard swim, 10.7 mile bike and a 5 km run. No wetsuit, 18 mph average on the bike and on wet, hilly roads and a muddy 5k trail run.

She is a badass:


      
However, and this demonstrates the inflexibility of the rules, were I or my wife ridiculous about the rules, she wouldn’t have been able to gut that race out because of rule #42:  A bike race shall never be preceded by a swim and/or followed by a run.  That’s just silly.  Well, for my wife.  I won’t wreck a bike ride with a swim and/or run anymore.  But that’s just me, though technically it takes an obtuse look at Rule #42 to come to my conclusion (though let’s not get too deep).

In any event, my wife finished 164th overall…  Not bad…  But she finished 46th on the bike leg.  Now that’s what I’m talking about!

10 Comments

  1. Well done to the badass with the triathlon. So rain & 5°c (Scottish summer?) qualifies?

  2. The exercise in the rain isn’t all that bad, except for soggy shoes. Actually starting the race knowing what added challenge was going to follow is BADA@@!!!! Then swimming in that cold of water…. no. No. And no.

    • bgddyjim says:

      I know man, taking everything into account, she’s one tough chick.

      I like riding in the rain too, when it’s warm like it was yesterday. Same goes for running. That swim would have sucked though. She said it was so cold she had a tough time keeping her face in the water.

      • The swim sounds like it was near dangerous. Kudos for toughing that out.

        My rule for rain is that I will not start a ride if it is raining, but will not alter a ride if it rains while I am riding. Of course, that means the bike and chain has to be wiped down thoroughly, as well as the rear cassette removed, when I get home.

      • bgddyjim says:

        Yep, you and I are on the same page for riding in the rain.

        I think dangerous would be a little too strong a word, just nowhere near easy or “fun”.

  3. bribikes says:

    That is so awesome! I just gotta say you two are terrific role models of perseverance for your daughters…and for others as well.

  4. I like this post but I myself strictly abide by rule #42. But I agree your wife is a total badass – I don’t have the guts to ride in the rain!!! Well done to her!

  5. bonnev659 says:

    that is amazing

    i worked a few weekends ago at a half iron distance tri back to back days. air temp was 50’s water temps 71.. and it just rained both days non stop… it sucked but a lot of folks did it and glad for them to do it

    and day 2 the waves got crazy for the swim… it really sucked, even the winner said it was his hardest swim of all time, and he done races in New Z, Euro, and in US

Leave a Reply

