Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Did you say “Gluten Free Hair Care Products”?  Since When Did People Start Eating Their Shampoo? Gluten-free Jumps the Shark

Did you say “Gluten Free Hair Care Products”?  Since When Did People Start Eating Their Shampoo? Gluten-free Jumps the Shark


Look, I get it, but this whole vegan/gluten-free thing is getting out of hand.

I read a post last night that turned out to be an advertisement for “the Morrocco Method gluten-free, vegan and paleo friendly shampoo.  Of course, they recommend you alternate between each of their five shampoos and two conditioners for best results…  So I’ll cut right to the chase, because I think it’s absolutely deliciously funny how gullible many in the food-snob crowd can be – and how easily those people are separated from their money…  The shampoo set, five standard-sized 12 oz bottles of shampoo (a can of Coke is 12 oz):  $130.  The conditioner set:  $110.  Two Hundred and Forty f@ckin’ Dollars for shampoo and conditioner.  Oh, I’m sorry.  Gluten-free shampoo and conditioner.  The hair and scalp “recovery package”?  $280!  To break this down further, they sell each 12 oz bottle of shampoo separately for $35 each!

Sorry man, but gluten-free just jumped the shark and if you’re that gullible, well you deserve to spend a quarter of a thousand bucks on shampoo and conditioner.

Now, I know there’s gotta be someone out there who reads this post and is tempted to comment along these lines:  “Oh, but the Morrocco shampoo is the best thing ever…”  I promise, I’ll respond nicely to your comment, but I’ll be laughing at you as I type my reply.  Out loud.  Laughing.  At you.

Unless you actually have been diagnosed with Celiac’s.  Then you get a pass, but only if you regularly ingest the shampoo and conditioner, which can’t be good for you.  So don’t do it.  Really.  It would give new meaning to colon-cleansing though.  Chuckle.  

Oh crap!  Literally.

 

25 Comments

  1. bribikes says:

    My nephews and nieces are super sensitive to gluten, especially the youngest-her dad has kissed her right after eating bread and she has gotten flare ups. Shockingly though, they still use normal shampoo! Which is good because four kids are expensive enough without buying specialty shampoos.

    • bgddyjim says:

      I refer back to my comment about Celiac’s disease. For some, it’s no joke. For many, it’s just a pompous way of separating them from the “little people”.

      • bribikes says:

        It is also a way to separate yourself from the best foods on planet earth. I can’t believe that people choose to live without pasta and fresh bread just for the sake of being trendy.

      • bgddyjim says:

        I know, but they do… And the best part is they claim to “feel better” for it. It’s a crazy world.

      • “It is also a way to separate yourself from the best foods on planet earth. I can’t believe that people choose to live without pasta and fresh bread just for the sake of being trendy.”

        People who do that are not being trendy. There is another word for them ..it ends in “holes”. 😉

        There are many gluten-free pastas, breads, etc., and if you really want to, you can make your own fresh bread, which are just as good, if not better than their gluten counterparts.

        I make several pasta dishes and no one would ever be able to tell the difference. Here is just one example: https://ericvandeven.wordpress.com/2012/01/03/gluten-free-lasagna/

        In fact, if you know what you are doing, it actually tastes better. Try the gluten-free pancake mix and you will see what I mean.

        “I know, but they do… And the best part is they claim to “feel better” for it. It’s a crazy world.”

        For those that claim to feel better going on a true gluten-free diet, I suggest you visit a doctor. If you are being honest, then you may have one of many dietary disorders.

      • bgddyjim says:

        You need to get out of the office more my friend. The trend has been going on for about two years now. If you REALLY want a laugh, start up a conversation with a chef. They’ll let you know what’s up. I know two, one from Seattle and one local. We have some pretty hefty laughs over the whole craze.

        NOT, of course, over those who actually have a problem, like yourself, but the trendies who eschew bread and pasta, no matter how gluten-free and good you could make it, simply to be trendy.

        It’s carbs man, a form of one of the diets… Maybe Atkins? I can’t remember. Yeah, just looked it up… Atkins.

      • You need to get out of the office more my friend. The trend has been going on for about two years now. If you REALLY want a laugh, start up a conversation with a chef. They’ll let you know what’s up. I know two, one from Seattle and one local. We have some pretty hefty laughs over the whole craze.

        NOT, of course, over those who actually have a problem, like yourself, but the trendies who eschew bread and pasta, no matter how gluten-free and good you could make it, simply to be trendy.

        It’s carbs man, a form of one of the diets… Maybe Atkins? I can’t remember. Yeah, just looked it up… Atkins.

        As I said, there is a word for “those” people. They are the same people who become alarmed after being “allegedly or sort of gluten free” for six months…and gain 20 pounds!

        A gluten free diet is not something to be done for fun. I have told everyone that if you do not experience certain symptoms after you eat a gluten laden meal, keep doing it. You will not lose weight and you won’t feel any better.

        Now, some said they did feel better but it more than likely has nothing to do with gluten. It has to do with over-consumption of carbohydrates as opposed to the amount of carbs you use or need.

        I was watching a very interesting show on PBS where the speaker was an endocrinologist. He was discussing what happens when you over-indulge in certain foods. Most foods that contain carbohydrates, also contain large amounts of sugar. As well as other things that throw your body out of balance.

        My wife, being a registered dietitian as well as the head of the nutrition department at the hospital she works at, said, I have been saying this for years.

        Many of these people who claim to feel better, actually do. But it has nothing to do with gluten. It has to do with lessening the amount of sugar intake and allowing your body to function normally.

        The Atkins diet is a very good diet for Celiacs as well as others who need to “shock” their bodies and then, and most never bothered to read the books, where the later chapters deal with returning to a near normal, just lower than recommended, carbohydrate diet.

        Contrary to popular belief, the Atkins diet doesn’t consist of eating 10 pounds of bacon a week and three steaks.
        It is in reality, a no/low sugar diet. Especially the induction phase…which is as far as the “trendies” get. 😉

      • bgddyjim says:

        Exactly. Exactly. Exactly. Yep.

  2. From the Mayo clinic: If you use a cosmetic or skin care product that contains gluten and you develop a skin reaction, see your doctor or dermatologist to identify the cause. It is possible to have an allergy to wheat or another grain that could cause a skin reaction, but this would not be due to celiac disease.

    There are many products that contain wheat which may cause an irritation. Some “True Celiacs” are very sensitive to wheat as well as gluten. I know of one friend that gets a rash just touching bread. I suspect if she ingested some shampoo, she may have a similar reaction.

    As for spending $300 on shampoo, there are other alternatives. And who knows, if it helps the individual, who are you to question it?

    Imagine this: You go to your dentist for a new bridge, which eventually takes 5 years to do and then is replaced with implants. During the 5 years, you have “issues” most notably, 24 or so hours after getting the temporary bridge cemented in. You know you have a gluten issue, but never thought about the dental cement. Turns out, 4-5 years ago when I had this work done, almost all temporary dental cement contained gluten.

    Nothing is better than directly injecting the one thing you are, for lack of a better term, allergic to, directly into your bloodstream!

    Many people have allergies and they don’t even know it. There is probably something else, and who really knows what is in shampoo these days,in the shampoo and conditioner, that may be irritating the individual. Blaming “everything” on gluten is irritating to me as there can be multiple causes which show the same symptoms.

    The same way virtually every digestive issue is eventually attributed to IBS.

    • bgddyjim says:

      I did make the exclusion for the Celiac’s sufferer in the post. As in my response to Bri, who has someone close to her who suffers that very fate, that even kissing her father after he’s eaten bread has brought about a reaction… Incredibly enough, they use normal off-the-shelf shampoo. Again, for some it is a serious issue. For those who are dumb enough to pay $250 for shampoo and conditioner, probably not. I find it hard to believe there isn’t a cheap solution out there (otherwise I’d have heard about it from Mickey Redmond, color announcer for the Red Wings on Fox Sports Detroit, a Celiac sufferer who has spoken at great length about his condition on air).

  3. CultFit says:

    Is this post gluten free? Goodness I hope so! As a LvL 5 vegan I can’t read, or eat anything that casts a shadow 😉

    • bgddyjim says:

      LOL! Well, my laptop casts a shadow but this blog post, on its own, does not. It’s just one’s and zero’s bro. You’re safe. 😉

      Level 5 vegan… Nice one!

      • CultFit says:

        … Don’t get me started with “peanut allergies” as well. Our poor, malnourished Son can’t pack a PBJ sandwich for school, However he can bring enough coconut water and granola to trade with his friends. Brilliant post!

      • bgddyjim says:

        Now the whole peanut allergy thing really throws me for a loop too. A very good friend of mine has a daughter who becomes VIOLENTLY ill if she even looks at a peanut cross-eyed… Still she manages just fine in our peanut butter eatin’ household. We have to be all things for everybody, so we can be nothing so as not to offend anyone.

  4. Paige says:

    But what is my hair is lactose-intolerant? Oh wait…that was sooooooo 2012. 😂

  5. Chatter says:

    I honestly have little to say… what will they think of next?

  6. Haven’t used shampoo for years, just hot water. I had bad eczema when I was young and used to have very bad dandruff, when I stopped using lotions & potions – result! And no my hair doesn’t smell or itch!!!

    • bgddyjim says:

      Oh, the places I could go with that post! I’m for whatever works and that which doesn’t stink… Sounds like you’re good on both. I had mild dandruff when I was much younger but Head & Shoulders does the trick for me. 😎

  7. And don’t get me started on the cosmetics industry generally!

  8. Jewel says:

    Oh wow, this was the perfect way to end my workday. Thank you…gosh, so funny. What an expensive trend. I actually went vegan for a while but I refused to be hardcore I’m better than you about it. But pasta?! What would my life be!?? Anyway, it goes without saying that I agree wholeheartedly with you. 👍

  9. Ah but what good are gluten-free hair products if you then don’t get a gluten-free haircut. That would be a total waste on your investment. 😂

Leave a Reply

