Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Yoga Poses and Stretches for the Budding Cyclist

Yoga Poses and Stretches for the Budding Cyclist

August 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Cycling is a funny thing.  While most people ride bike at an easy pace over short distances (5-10 miles taking 30 to 60 minutes), when you get into the faster speeds (call it 17 to 25 mph), it can hurt over a long four or five hour ride.  While I do make light of yoga and stretching (I do neither), they do have their uses after Herculean efforts – even for a super-cyclist like me.  After all, if you’re hurting you have to get ready for that next big ride.  You don’t want to waste any time being sidelined – or worse, have trouble sleeping because you’re sore.  I have regularly resorted to a few simple yoga poses to work the kinks out because we all know that yoga, or stretching, can make sleepy time just a little more enjoyable.  Here are my suggestions [I use the actual Sanskrit names to show that I’m smarter than you]:

The Evenmytainthurtsasana:  After a century, especially if you’re only doing one or two a year, you might find it hard to sleep because your hips hurt… lay in bed with one leg straight and the other rotated out and down so your legs and body make a goofy lowercase “h”.  Your hips should feel better instantly.

The Myfrickinlowerbackiskillingmeasana:  After a long day in the saddle, especially in the drops, it helps to stretch out that lower back a little bit.  Simply lay in bed and fold your leg over your other leg so your foot is a few inches lower than the top of the bed.  Switch sides of the bed and do the other leg.

The Cameltoeasana:  Squat down so your butt almost touches the ground and wrap your arms around your knees (make sure they’re spread wide).  This will help with the hips and the lower back.

The Lookatthosehootersasana:  Cycling for all you’re worth isn’t easy.  Spend a day on the hoods or in the drops and your neck can become quite stiff…  Simply touch your chin to each shoulder to loosen things up a bit.

The LookmaI’mWileECoyoteasana:  Part two of the shoulder stretches…  Rotate your arms as Wile E Coyote does after running off the edge of a cliff, a second before he falls to the desert floor.

The Peeonmyownfaceasana or alternately for the guys, the Lightmyfartasana:  The hips still bothering you?  Don’t fret, happens to the best of us!  Simply lay down on your back, spread your legs to shoulder width, bring your knees up to your chest, wrap your arms around them and hold that for a few seconds.

These are some of the best poses I know (or have made up, alternately).  If they don’t shake out the cobwebs, take two pain relievers and follow that with a recovery ride in the morning.  16-20 miles at 2/3’s normal pace should do.

You’re welcome, in advance.

 

 

18 Comments

  1. Paige says:

    Best. Names. EVER! I’m taking my first yoga class next week. I’ll probably be giggling thinking about this. If I get kicked out I’m blaming you! 😂😂😂

  2. So... says:

    Laughing silly while my serious student of yoga side tries to keep a straight face!

    • bgddyjim says:

      I do apologize to you and all of the serious yoga folks. It was all in good fun. I know plenty of yoga folks and for the most part, they’re all cool. The idea for that post has been percolating for some time now and it seemed like a funny twist. I was laughing out loud while I was writing it…

  3. Tracey says:

    I started yoga to help with the hip pain…but it means evening classes, since I work, and I find myself out riding during the time of the yoga classes. So I choose…yoga or riding and riding always wins. T-storms tonight, so I’m heading in for some stretching right now. LOVE your pose names. Very clever!!! 🙂

    • bgddyjim says:

      That’s the same reason I quit triathlon… every time I got ready to go for a run I’d opt for the bike instead. Enjoy your yoga, and thank you.

  4. Kecia says:

    Ha Ha!! I can’t wait to get back to yoga and share these with my instructor!! It is so hard to do both yoga and triathlon…I always try to find a balance between the two, but triathlon always wins 🙂

  5. Sue Slaght says:

    From I never stretch to the hilarious encyclopedia of stretching. Me thinks you were holding out on us in earlier posts. 🙂

    • bgddyjim says:

      I have been working on this for about two weeks… I came up with the idea, wrote the title and the first line, saved it and left it sit. Then, yesterday, I dug it out and finished it.

      “I don’t follow a structured stretching plan” would, perhaps, have been a more perfectly worded statement… I beat myself up pretty good from time to time. Every now and again I do have to stretch my back out just to sleep. It’s very rare but it does happen. 😉

Leave a Reply

