Fit Recovery

Home » Fitness » A New Way to Cycle for Fit Recovery…

A New Way to Cycle for Fit Recovery…


With absolutely perfect weather on the horizon, Mrs. Bgddy and I are ready to take this show on the road, quite literally.  We bought a pop-up camper a month or two ago and we’re just about ready to launch. 

For certain, in a couple of weeks my wife will SAG for me at DALMAC.  This means that instead of having to pitch a tent, I’ll be cuddling up with my wife in a Queen-sized bed.  Not only that, our pop-up has a furnace…  Seriously, a furnace.  

image

I’ve never been much of a camper, put simply, I hate tents. Our new pop-up sets up just as fast, is dry through even torrential downpours (we’ve tested it), and did I mention it has a freaking furnace?!

We bought that bad boy quite used, dropped quite a bit of cash on it to spruce it up, but it’s finally good to go. No more tents during hunting season, during family camping trips, and not at DALMAC. Next year, for Mrs. Bgddy’s triathlon we’ve already made plans to camp with her friends… Too frickin’ cool.

Incidentally, one of the last things to do will be to build a bike rack that I can strap to the roof of the camper (I am fully aware of the precautions and have worked around all of them).

Next year will be a season for exploring and camping in luxury. Now all I have to do is figure our how to shoe horn a 60″ big screen in there.

image

14 Comments

  1. Sue Slaght says:

    Now that looks more like my kind of camping! Happy trails. 🙂

  2. wanderwolf says:

    It could be neat to have a projector and use the one side of the camper as the screen. 🙂 Saves the issue of finding a shoe-horn big enough to get that TV in 😉

    • bgddyjim says:

      Unfortunately that won’t work, though you get big points for creativity. We’ve got the zip-down window shades, they’re black so the projector idea won’t work.

      I think I can downsize that 60 a little bit.

  3. James L says:

    Good stuff – looks a lot simpler than a tent. I managed to source a free tent, but when I set it up I realised it was for about 8 people – so a bit excessive for my requirements.

    • bgddyjim says:

      We have an 8 and a 4 man… I’ll like the big tent.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Btw… it has its pluses and minuses… it sets up almost as fast as a tent, is worlds more comfortable, has running water and heat.

      On the downside, I had to buy a $20,000 SUV for my wife so we can tow it. We only paid $1,300 for it but we’ve put another $300 into it, plus tags and tax all of the other little expenses… it’s not the cheaper way to camp. Still, I’ll work a few extra hours for the luxury. Absolutely worth it.

  4. Sheree says:

    Way better than a tent and it looks very cosy! I’m sure you’ll both have a great time at the races.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Indeed we will! Our first time out with it will be for DALMAC, a 4 day stage ride from the Lansing to Mackinaw, Michigan… 380 miles in 4 days. Can’t wait, not even two weeks away now.

  5. tischcaylor says:

    That looks awesome. Fun times ahead!

  6. bribikes says:

    This brings back memories! Our family of nine took a pop-up camper across the country…it was rather cramped but we had lots of fun! (But we would have had more fun if we had a 60″ screen in there)

  7. Sandra says:

    We just got back from campin’ in the BWCA. No campers up there, but we surely envied the folks with the big silverstreams . . . those classics. I grew up with a popup (Apache, much simpler and smaller than that). We LOVED it. I am not sure we ever stayed in a hotel unless there were tornado warnings (that happened once), and we never ate out unless we ran out of food (usually on the way home). Have a great time–these are memories your kids will NEVER forget!

Leave a Reply

