Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Getting the Orange Sweat Stains Out of White Cycling Kit… It’s Easier Than You Think.

Getting the Orange Sweat Stains Out of White Cycling Kit… It’s Easier Than You Think.


I sweat orange.  I’ve read it has to do with well water and sunscreen.  I do have a well and with 12-14 hours a week in the sun, I go through some sunscreen, but I have a water softener too so I technically shouldn’t get the stains.  I do though, and it pisses me off.  So much that I quit buying white clothing long ago…  I hate feeling like a slob even though I’m not, so it’s just easier to go with blue, black, gray or some version of tan clothing and I can avoid the problem altogether.

Then came cycling.  All but two or three of my jerseys have white in them, but only two have white in the collar.  My club kit has a white collar and I knew I was in trouble the second I opened the first package (I have two club kits – both large bibs, but I have a Large jersey for late in the season and an Extra Large for cycling between Thanksgiving and June – chuckle).

So I did what any self-respecting husband would do…  I left solving the conundrum to my wife.

I know, I know, I can hear the wailing and gnashing of teeth already…  Look, my wife and I have a partnership.  She takes care of some stuff, I take care of other stuff.  What we have works and we are happy, so butt out.  That said, she solved my problem…

Three days ago, the collar on my mid-season jersey was orange:
20150825_063019

Not orange any more.  You’d be right to say, “Hey man, that’s gleaming!”  It is, ’cause my wife rocks.

So before we get to the simple, painless even, solution, let’s look at the problem.  Every now and again my jerseys don’t make the proper laundry cycle.  My wife has other things to wash before my jersey can make it into the washer.  Now being a guy and living in a very wet region with a well, I’ll wash anything after a ride, just to keep it from sitting.  My wife, on the other hand, being a conscious hippie, will sometimes let a jersey sit for 10-20 hours until we accumulate a decent load to wash.  The problem is that wait.  That’s why my stuff turns orange.  If it makes it right into the wash, it won’t stain.

So, what’s the answer?  My favorite Tide sport.  With the collar dingy and orange, my wife told me to soak the collar in a small amount of straight laundry detergent…  I just poured a couple of table spoons into a plastic cap, balled up the collar, stuck it in the detergent, rubbed it in a little bit and let it sit for a few hours.  My wife ran a load, maybe three or four hours later and that’s how it came out right there.  Easy as it gets.

IMG_7944

9 Comments

  1. Sheree says:

    Kit goes straight into the wash the moment my husband takes it off.

  2. wanderwolf says:

    Kudos to your wife. Think of all the water/electricity costs you’re saving by not washing too often 😉
    That being said, I’m running out of places to hang my clothes to dry after a run so that it doesn’t fester in its own rancid wetness and/or annoy the hell out of anyone sees it hanging around.

  3. Sue Slaght says:

    Tide has been my long time friend and Tide sport has changed my world. 🙂 Can you tell I am a big time sweater?

  4. Sandra says:

    And vinegar takes the stink out!
    Thanks for the tip on Tide Sport, by the way!

  5. bonnev659 says:

    I used another brand and it works just as good…. and I only get orange when i have sun block on… normally it is white from the salt…. wish I could wash my kits right away but sometimes I have to wait a day or two before I wash them

Leave a Reply

