Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Cycling is one of those rare sports where a desire to be seen isn’t entirely driven by the ego…

Cycling is one of those rare sports where a desire to be seen isn’t entirely driven by the ego…

October 2015
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

On the other hand, sometimes a fella’s just gotta look snazzy…

Here’s the bike:

wpid-wp-1443311858365.jpg

And the new winter jersey:

Spec Therminal LS Jersey Front 64116-726_APP_THERMINAL-JERSEY-LS_RED-WHT-TEAM_BACK_L

Oh, yeah…  Now that’s a nice mix of Hi-Viz and Awesome!  To tell you the truth, I’ve been waiting on something like this for some time now…  I can understand the whole “Hi-Viz” craze, especially in the cloudy, often crappy, autumn weather we have here in Michigan.  What I hated, at least until now, is that all of the clothing is just bright and usually very boring.  The Therminal Long Sleeve Jersey, is the perfect marriage of cool and “Hi-Viz” though.  ‘Bout time.

I’d do a full write-up, but when it comes to Specialized’s cycling clothing, every piece I’ve ever owned (and I own a lot) has fit well, worn fantastically (I have cycling shorts going on three years old that still look fantastic and perform even better).  I haven’t even worn the new jersey yet (I did try it on) and I can tell you without a doubt, it will exceed my expectations.  Specialized’s stuff is, simply stated, that good.

To date I own: Four pair of cycling shorts (2 RBX Pro, 1 RBX Comp and 1 BG Comp), one jersey, one Element 2.0 jacket, 1 outer rain shell (my wife’s), and one Element 1.o jacket (my wife wears that one most of the time as well, she runs a little cooler than I do), three pair of cycling gloves, 1 pair full finger cycling gloves and an under the helmet winter cap.  Add that up and you’re looking at a whole lot of money and I’ve only ever had a minor problem with one cycling glove, and that was replaced.

So, if you have a Specialized bike and some extra disposable cash, and then a little more disposable cash, pony up for anything you can afford.  Specialized’s cycling wear is well worth the cheese.

15 Comments

  1. velo26 says:

    Looking good on your bike = feeling good on your bike. Getting decent kit is always worth the money.

  2. bonnev659 says:

    have you tried any other brands for clothing? I know a few brands I found and tried that I love. for myself I personally choose a few brands for 1 special reason for myself and the gear fits. I just need a set of winter buttons now as my other pair is gone sadly but my thermal jacket/wind proof is amazing

    • bgddyjim says:

      Absolutely, I’ve got other brands. I’ve got a Pearl Izumi jersey that is one of my favorites and two full Bora Pro kits that are indispensable… I’ve also had a Garneau jersey that I dug but donated to a friend’s son who is just getting into cycling and I’ve got a Garneau vest that I can’t live without when the temperature drops below, say 55. I’ve also got a Sugoi Zap rain jacket that’s perfect for those rough weather days (or later evening rides – the whole jacket is reflective, it lights up when headlights hit it… Very cool.

  3. if you can’t ride like a pro you can atlas look like a pro!

  4. adarling575 says:

    That jacket looks awesome! Here in the UK (for any other British readers) I really like Rapha – expensive but really good quality, a good British brand. And they are the brand of choice for Team Sky if that makes any difference. I also love Pearl Izumi and am on the look-out for a specific Cafe du Cycliste jersey once it comes back in stock in my size… oh I love cycling jerseys. Sticking to my gender stereotypes on this one I think!!!

    • bgddyjim says:

      Yeah, Rapha’s too expensive for my liking… I don’t know, I’d rather a pair of 1,100 gram carbon wheels than a Rapha kit. Chuckle. I’m sure it’s awesome stuff but I’d look out of place with the group I cycle with. 😉

      • adarling575 says:

        I wonder if it’s more expensive in the U.S.? Because the stuff I have isn’t more expensive than Specialized here… Interesting!!! (Admittedly I won’t buy their long tights- they are to go over padded shorts and I refuse to pay so much for something that doesn’t even include padding!)

      • bgddyjim says:

        Long Sleeve Jerseys from $160 to $240 (I paid about $130 for the jersey in the post). Gilet for $200 (I paid $95 for my Garneau), Jerseys for $140 to $240 (I paid $100 for my most expensive jersey), $230 for bib shorts (I gave $110 for my Bora bibs), their hardshell jacket goes for $390, my Specialized cost half that… It’s not that they’re all that expensive, it’s that my $2,000 collection of kits would have $3,000 – $4,000… It adds up over four pair of shorts, two bibs, six jerseys, a gilet, a jacket, socks, etc..

  5. Sheree says:

    Everything matches – nice!

  6. We ship out quite a lot of Specialized clothing at work and it all seems very high quality. Also a lot of Rapha and Assos, but I’m not really a fan as although there’s no denying it’s high quality kit, I don’t think the value for money is quite good enough.

    Personally I’m a bit of a Castelli man!

Leave a Reply

