Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Swimming Season Begins, Personal Bests Abound for My Girls…

Swimming Season Begins, Personal Bests Abound for My Girls…

October 2015
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

No ride Saturday morning, rain and crap weather had me making everyone’s breakfast sammiches before I had to take my eldest down for her first swim meet of the year.

Mrs. Bgddy had left earlier with the youngest who swam in the morning session and managed to drop at least five seconds on each of her events.

Then came the eldest.  She dropped five seconds on her first, seventeen seconds on her 200 free, a pile of seconds on her 100 medley and almost five on her 50 free.  It was her best day swimming, ever.

My girls, are no longer in the early heats, they’re mid-way through, and they’re only getting stronger.  Their effort so moved my wife, she was brought to tears a few times.

My cycling season may be close to over but my year isn’t, not quite yet…  We’ll ride when we can, right up till the snow flies but we won’t rough a whole lot of precipitation.  Cold, no problem but not rain, sleet or snow.  The days are getting shorter but our evenings are filled with swimming practices and our weekends with meets – and that’s fine with me.  I get much of the spring, all of the summer and a month and change of fall where we’re not running all over God’s green Earth for swimming meets so I can ride.  That’s good enough.

Sadly, as November is finally upon us, my weekly mileage takes a tumble.  I went from 220 miles a week to just 105 last week, over four days of riding.  On the plus side though, there was a time not too long ago where 105 miles was one of my better weeks…  On the other hand, I should be passing the 7,000 mile mark for the year next week, so I can live with a few short weeks.

In short, all is well.

 

4 Comments

  1. elisariva says:

    You have some awesome girls! They will always remember where you were – there with them not on the bike. I am planning on writing soon! Finished the race and have some down time. Outdoor cycling in late fall/ winter – have you considered a cross bike or fat bike??

    • bgddyjim says:

      Cross bike, yes, but there are some intricacies there – mainly that I’ve already got a lot of bikes and we’ve got other pressing, fun things to tend to. A fat bike is almost out of the question, simply because I like going fast and those are decidedly NOT fast. Congratulations on your race, I’m looking forward to your recap.

      And thank you.

      • elisariva says:

        Good point! I have a cross and am eyeing a fatty. More for fun not speed. This will make you laugh – friend of mine did a sprint triathlon relay this summer. To mix it up the swimmer did IM (open water – changed stroke at each buoy), the cyclist was on a fat bike with aerobars – he averaged 22 mph passing guys on decked out Tri bikes!! – and the “runner” skipped. It was cute to see them having fun.

      • bgddyjim says:

        I can only imagine the tire pressure on the fat bike! A buddy of mine who’d broken his collar bone was missing the club ride… His doctor wouldn’t allow him to ride on his aggressively setup road bike but cleared him for any flat-handlebar bike… He brought his fat bike to the club ride and stayed with us for six miles @ 25 mph and better. The whirring of the wheels on the pavement was hilarious… Ten miles at 22 on a fat bike is insanely fast… Your friend is a horse!

Leave a Reply

