Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Need an Energy Drink for a Boost? You’re a Sissy.

Need an Energy Drink for a Boost? You’re a Sissy.

November 2015
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Now that I’ve got your attention and started off on the wrong foot, let’s go a different direction with this…

I would love to tell you I’ve never downed an energy drink, that a Monster never appealed to me.  I’d be lying.

I had just started a construction company, a fairly big one too.  Not that being a trunk slammer is bad, but try funding an office with a warehouse plus two cars, a mortgage, a wife and two kids on good looks and want to…  It sounds frickin’ awesome but it’s hard as hell.

I was working late, staying up late and with all of the stress, not sleeping well before waking up early (3:30-4:30 am) and doing it all over again.

In addition to a daily pot of coffee, I turned to energy drinks every now and again to stay awake for my drive home from the office, often not knowing if I’d have the cash to make my once-a-month salary.  Every penny I made over that went back into the company.

I used those drinks, maybe a couple of dozen times, to push myself farther and harder than people are supposed to go, right?

Wrong.

I used those drinks to work harder at the expense of learning how to work smarter.

I used those drinks, over a period of three months or so, as a crutch because I was a sissy.

It’s been six years since I felt a need to drink a Monster.  I’m coming up on my ninth year in business (five is darn-near impossible if you look at the stats).  I’ve done better than a Million Dollars in sales (another near-impossibility), in each of those three years and I may double that next year (with a little luck, double and a half).

I get more, deeper, satisfying sleep.  My only vice being a need to ride a bicycle go work out any residual tension from the day.  No booze, no drugs, no pills…  No crutches.

I learned to work smarter, not harder.

Energy drinks are for sissies.  For babies. People who rely on them are to be pitied, even looked at as “sickly” or “weak”.

They’re for people who would rather rely on a quick rush (usually followed by a crash) instead of doing the hard, disciplined work.  Energy drinks are worse than that, though….

Energy drinks aren’t a typical crutch, where once one can walk on their own steam, they can’t wait to set the crutch in the corner to conduct observational experiments on its ability to collect dust.  Energy drinks are far more insidious.  Before long, the user can become reliant on its use, come to need it to perform even menial tasks.

Given enough time and reliance, they become a shortcut to the long road, because once you grow up and set them aside, you’re going to have to learn how to walk without the crutch before you can run.

Wings my ass, that’s an anchor.

Just a thought.

image

28 Comments

  1. bonnev659 says:

    funny a few of my friends are into them. i never had one and wont have one. i also never had coffee too shocking enough for a few of my friends

  2. Dan says:

    I’ve never used them at all. There is good science behind moderate amounts of caffeine, but those drinks have a whole host of other ingredients. That’s where the problems come in. Some of my fellow bus drivers will use that crap on the long, night tteks including tj

  3. Dan says:

    The caffeine pills. Those things scare me to death. The comedown is abrupt.

  4. OmniRunner says:

    I tasted a Red Bull once and it was worse than cough syrup. Took one sip and tossed it. Just disgusting. I do love my coffee!

  5. Sue Slaght says:

    I’ve never had one but I do like coffee I will admit. 🙂

  6. fastk9dad says:

    Everything in moderation. I like the Monster Rehabs every once in a while, usually in place of a coffee I’d otherwise have.

  7. wanderwolf says:

    How do you feel about coffee, though? Works in mic of the same ways… Also addicting…

    • bribikes says:

      Yeah, anyone who drinks coffee is a sissy too.

      Oops! Did I say that out loud? Clearly, I have no sense of self preservation…oh dear, my family is about to disown me for saying that!

      *retracts statement*

      And as we all know only sissies retract statements that are true. So I guess I am a sissy along with all you coffee and energy drink guzzlers 😉

      • bgddyjim says:

        See my previous statement in a reply to the comment before yours as to why coffee and an energy drink aren’t even in the same playing field… Start with, coffee is made by passing hot water over ground, roasted beans. Nothing else added (you even have to take the caffeine OUT to make decaf, they don’t add caffeine in a plant)… How do they make an energy drink?

    • bgddyjim says:

      Well, that’s a good question. Let’s see, sugar in an energy drink (4-10 teaspoons?), sugar in coffee (none). Which on causes wild fluctuations in the body’s systems? Not coffee. Which one is actually beneficial to one’s health and stability? That would be coffee. Which one is manufactured in a plant and which one is made by passing water over ground beans?

      I think I’ve made a fair case that they’re not even in the same ballpark.

  8. Eat natural, train smart, sleep well, get faster! 🙂

    I downed the odd energy drink when I was as university but soon realised it was really messing with my body. When I worked at a secondary school, I used to shudder seeing the multitude of teens coming to school each morning with nothing but a can or two of Monster as their breakfast! It was not uncommon for some of them to be drinking in excess of 2L a day of the stuff…

  9. Blair says:

    I’ll admit, I love Redbull. Especially with some vodka. But you can’t get around the fact it’s made of crap. I’m not a fan of all the sugar they put in there so I haven’t had one in a few years. But, coffee… yes, please.

  10. Hmmmm… did you fail to mention downing a Coca Cola on a century now and then? That should count as an energy drink. heh heh heh

    I have a friend who used to think I was crazy for riding with only water in my bottles. My stomach has always thanked me for being that way.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Interesting point but not quite a level field. I drink the small Coke, not the 22 oz. A Monster is HUGE in comparison. Finally, the sugar is well-used 80 miles into a century… that’s why it makes a person feel better. Energy drinks might be good in that instance too, if they weren’t so syrupy. However, you’re missing the point… Kids are not downing that crap to survive a century, they’re using it to get to class.

  11. James L says:

    From experience I can say they are addictive – at first I had one now and again when I felt tired and wanted to get through the afternoon at work. Now I seem to purchase them without thinking. I have been thinking about stopping them for ages, I think I will start today 🙂

    • bgddyjim says:

      Good luck brother… it’ll take a week or two before you start feeling immensely better.

      Just remember, if you don’t buy one today, you’ll never have to live through quitting again.

Leave a Reply

