Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Fit Recovery on “Sucking It Up” After Just Enough Turkey, Mashed Potatoes, Gravy and Green Bean Casserole.

Fit Recovery on “Sucking It Up” After Just Enough Turkey, Mashed Potatoes, Gravy and Green Bean Casserole.

December 2015
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

That’s right folks.  Green bean casserole.  I like green bean casserole more than Oreos, I kid you not.  Thanksgiving dinner is one of two or three meals a year that I get to enjoy the stuff because my wife and kids aren’t the biggest fans.  Mix that with turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy and I truly know what Heaven is like.  Add to that, some coconut cream pie, pumpkin pie, donuts (from Cops and Doughnuts in Clare, MI), Mama Cilli’s pizza and a ham dinner and Thanksgiving weekend is my idea of a “Cheat Weekend” if I were to subscribe to such a thing.  We didn’t even get into breakfast, which consisted of French toast, bacon or sausage (or both) and milk…  My trick is to eat small portions of everything except the big Four…  Turkey, mashed taters, gravy and GBC.

For instance, when we went out for pizza at Mama Cilli’s on Saturday, I got a trip to the salad bar and only ate one slice more than half of a small 10″ pizza.  I’d gone for a ride that day and skipped lunch.  In the end, my calorie count for the day was right where it should have been (or close enough to it, I don’t actually count calories – I’m good enough about it to guesstimate).  I could have polished off that pizza, it was spectacular, but after that last piece I was full and satisfied.  To eat more would have only meant being uncomfortable and I simply don’t do that.

That said, I’ve taken too much time off the bike.  We only rode twice over the weekend (Saturday and Sunday) and that was slow.  I’m getting that little itch at the back of my melon that says, “Dude, it’s time to suck it up and work your butt.”

The problem is that doing so isn’t all that easy.  Sure, there’s a small part of me that wants to puke in my mouth when I do my trainer session today – it’s raining, cold and I have to take my daughters to swimming practice tonight…  I also have to head over to my bank and fill out some fraud paperwork because somebody has Wal-Mart’s online purchasing nailed (I would think twice before using their website to purchase anything – I never will again) and I’ve got some program stuff to attend to (it’s Fifth Step time for Bgddy) as well.  On the other hand, the whole rest of my brain, the vast majority of it as a matter of fact, is saying, “Dude, just take it easy today.  Work your way back slowly and you can puke in your mouth tomorrow.”

Another problem, even though the mirror may not show it, is that I feel chubby after last weekend.  I hate feeling chubby, real or not.

So here I sit, writing this post.  I’ve been up since 4 am, I’ve already gotten most of my work for the day done, and it’s time to suit up.  Even guys like me, who on the outside, seem like they have it together, have days where we just don’t wanna – and mine are always preceded by an inactive or overindulgent period.  Imagine that.

This, of course, is why I choose to lead a more disciplined life.  I am big on the phrase “To thine own self be true”.  I know who I am and I know that it’s a lot harder to get this train rolling than it is to keep it rolling.

Interestingly, I was talking with a friend of mine yesterday about a local guy who decided to lose weight.  He was over 300 pounds the day of his decision and he, slowly, got into triathlon.  Eventually he dropped enough weight that he could think about the longer distance 140.6.  He’d lost more than 100 pounds as the story goes, and picked up a couple of big sponsors.  They provided him with a very nice bike, travel expenses and the whole nine yards.  He went on to complete his second Ironman but missed the cutoff time by ten minutes so he knew he wouldn’t be in the results.  His sponsor then secured him a spot at Kona and paid for his coach… and he went off the rails.  He gained almost half of that weight back and is now having to look at starting all over again.  Not quite at square one, but his trip back isn’t going to be easy.  Unlike true pros, his sponsor isn’t giving up on him.  They’re trying to help, but it’s going to take a return to discipline to get him back.

Food tastes too good.

Now, I’m nobody special except in my own mind.  I don’t have an awesome story (or perhaps I do, it’s up for a fair debate) and I don’t necessarily even want a sponsor.  The only thing that drives me to suck it up is that I know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, I want to be one of those old coots who makes everybody wonder where all of that energy comes from.  I know if I want to be active at 90 (and I absolutely do), I’d better be full speed ahead today.  So right this very moment, it’s time to get up and get moving.

Ride hard my friends.

20 Comments

  1. Helena Kotala says:

    I feel chubby right now too. It was all train, train, train before the 200-mile ride, then Thanksgiving happened and I ate too much and I deserved/needed a couple days off anyway… But a couple days has turned into too many and now it’s cold and rainy and the last thing I want to do is get on the bike. But I feel chubby and blah, so I know I need to.

  2. Kecia says:

    It is so frustrating to have to deal with the bank issue. Hopefully it gets figured out and corrected super fast! I too have been feeling chubby, but unfortunately I have strep throat and am on day 4 of no exercise and day 2 of being home from work. Hopefully the z-pack kicks in today and I start to feel miraculously better 🙂 I hope you have the most amazing ride!! Ride for me 🙂

  3. So... says:

    I like the discomfort of discipline. Letting up means I slide back real smooth, real fast and as you rightly say, it is hard work getting back. I get chubby in my mind and that just creeps in.

  4. i make green bean casserole every year, my secret is using 1.5 lbs of uncured back forest bacon, i justified it by riding 30 miles the day before and after thanksgiving

  5. Dan says:

    No turkey at our household this year; most of my kids aren’t fans. I can’t remember the last time I had GBC; probably at a church pot luck! The FIRST thing I want to do is get on the bike. Suck it up Cupcake and ride hard!!

  6. Sue Slaght says:

    Jim I too hope to be one of those old people that make people wonder. I’d love to still be doing pull ups when I’m 80. Now that might turn a head or two in the gym. 🙂

  7. Sheree says:

    You Americans have it tough. Thanksgiving and Christmas in the space of a month! Get back on that bike NOW. You know it makes sense!

Leave a Reply

