Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » The First Ride of 2016…

The First Ride of 2016…


I already have more outdoor miles in this year that I had all of last January…  Chuckle.

image

image

It was cold (24 but with the windchill it felt like 15 [-4 C and -9 respectively], the wind was howling and my wife and I were the only two crazy enough to brave the nasty roads.  Still, we spent almost a full hour out there.

We’ll have to see what today holds, it’s supposed to be pretty decent (though cold again).  We may go two for two.

Incidentally, I took my trusty 3700 out and it worked perfectly after replacing the shifters last week. The indexing was perfect and the brakes work better than they ever have since I’ve owned the bike. Too cool.

24 Comments

  1. Damn, that looks cold. I don’t know if I’d have your level of motivation to go out into THAT. Luckily, it doesn’t really show here. Gotta give you props lol.

  2. JD Blom says:

    Awesome! Nothing like winter cycling to to make you appreciate the summer.

  3. Tony says:

    Way to go, guys! I got out and logged some miles, too. Great way to start the year.

  4. Dan says:

    I never thought in a million years I’d be jealous of a COLD ride!! 🙂 I’m seeing the possibilities coming soon though!

    • bgddyjim says:

      You didn’t miss much Dan. It was one of those where you wanted it to be fun but I just couldn’t get there in my melon.

      • Dan says:

        Right now, Jim, I’d be happy to get a mile in and it’s only 13 degrees here right now. I might even try it this afternoon against doctor’s orders. I’ll just use my single speed with the wider tires and head down my snow covered gravel road a bit. I think I’ll skip the clipless pedals at this point though. I’m sure I have some platforms somewhere in my scrap pile!

      • bgddyjim says:

        Don’t do it Dan. If you fall, your spring and summer could be screwed. You’ve got a couple of few weeks until you can get out there for real. Don’t risk it man.

      • Dan says:

        Man I hate common sense sometimes. I know you’re right, but……

      • bgddyjim says:

        I know man. I know.

  5. Sheree says:

    Mmm, that looks like fun! Happy New Year

  6. Sue Slaght says:

    Happy New Year! Inspire on my friend.

  7. So… your wife was riding studs with a stud? LOL

  8. Manu Stanley says:

    That’s a lot of snow. Keep riding!! 🙂

  9. The Guat says:

    Holy Crap! You rock!

  10. MJ Ray says:

    Happy new year. No snow here… yet. Just lots of water, but northern England has much more.

Leave a Reply

