Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Progress on the 5200 Refurbishing

Progress on the 5200 Refurbishing


I stopped by the shop the other day and picked out the decals for the 5200 from VeloCals.  If you’ve been paying attention, it’s going from red with orange and gold flake to dead black so I can match it  to my other bikes…

wp-1452553562201.jpg

So naturally I want to keep it as close to original as possible while still adding a little bit of my own touch to it so I went with solid Ruby Red Trek down tube decals and I’ll have the Trek head badge and an American Flag (the bike was hand-built in the USA) on the seat tube…  Other than the chain stay protector and a few well-placed paint protectors, that’ll be it as far as decals on the bike.  Like I bought it, I’m going to keep it minimal.  Jet black, ruby red “TREK” down tube decals and that’s about it.  No 5200 decals, no flashy stickers, just black, a splash of red and brushed aluminum parts.  I’m also changing out two of the cable housings that were white (The front and rear brake cable housings).  I’m going black all the way around.

Shouldn’t be long now, maybe a couple of weeks and I’ll be able to put it all together again.

Truthfully, this is the part I hate… When we’re getting close, but still not there yet.

2 Comments

  1. Can’t wait to see your pictures of the finished bike. I hate white cable housings, by the way, and I don’t know why.

    I have considered removing the white pearl paint on my Serotta to go with the brushed exposed titanium. The white pearl still looks good, so it’s hard to pull the trigger. I don’t really like white bikes either, but I don’t have to worry about the color of my shoes, helmet, gloves or kit when riding that bike. White goes with everything!

    • bgddyjim says:

      The white housings made sense with the original paint scheme, but I’m blacking it out so they’d stick out like a sore thumb. I’d check with a pro to see if they can strip it down to bare metal first. I know metal is a LOT easier than carbon fiber but there are still the nooks and crannies.

Leave a Reply

