Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » New Clothes for a 1999 Trek 5200

New Clothes for a 1999 Trek 5200


My 5200 is almost ready to reassemble.  The new paint job, as simple as it is, has been no simple task.  I took my beat up, ugly, peeling, Trek to the shop about a month ago.  The “beat up” part wasn’t even my fault.  I took the bike on a fun ride in downtown Flint last year and at one of the fun stops, someone beat my bike against a steel bike rack and scraped a bunch of paint off of the top tube.  I was not happy.  That’s about the time I decided it was time to strip it down and paint it.

The base paint is complete, the decals were hit with a first clear coat to ease the edges.  All that was left was to sand the whole thing down to rid the finish of any imperfections…

20160125_144403

It’s currently in the paint booth getting its final clear coat.  From there, the bottom bracket and headset have to be installed.  After that, I just have to reassemble it and it’ll be back on the road.

As you can see, the red matches my Venge and Rockhopper almost perfectly, which was the goal.

By next week I should be able to start putting it back together.  It’s going to be beautiful!

 

6 Comments

  1. It needs flames.. or little pink frilly flowers. (snicker)

  2. Love it! I’m considering giving my Pinarello Angliru a new paint job and replacing a few key parts – that simple black and red looks great!

    • bgddyjim says:

      Thanks man, it turned out even better than I’d hoped… and I saved a layer of chrome paint from the old paint job so I dropped a couple hundred grams. 😉

      Chuckle.

      Seriously though, that paint job, with the decals, is only going to run me about $400 when it’s all said and done. It’ll be worth every penny.

  3. looks good can’t wait to see it done

Leave a Reply

