Fit Recovery

Home » Uncategorized » Rebuilding My Trek, A Confession and Apology…

Rebuilding My Trek, A Confession and Apology…


I had big plans for the rebuilding of my 5200.  I thought about doing a YouTube video of the build.  I scratched that idea for several reasons.  There aren’t a whole lot of photos on this site of my full face without sunglasses and a cycling helmet on my melon.  Maybe a half-dozen over the four years and change I’ve been writing this blog…  This is by design, and a requirement of my recovery.  It is what it is.  Then, why would anyone want to bother watching me build my bike?  It just didn’t make sense to me.  Then there’s the time into editing a video and getting it ready to upload…  I’m way too busy to go through all of that.  Too much work, too much going on.  Oh, and it’s tax season.  No way I can mess with it right now.

I started building the Trek back up.  Put the saddle on, put the handlebar on, brakes, the wheels…  I took photos of all of it for a big photo illustrated build post:

Look, I’m already not fast when it comes to this stuff.  Well, that’s not exactly right either;  I’m not “mechanic” fast, I’m everyday Joe fast.  Taking photos of everything adds about 30 to 50% more time into completing repairs, for something this big, that’s a lot of extra time.  It became apparent early on that this was going to take too much time if I kept at it this way, so I did the selfish thing and quit with the photos so I could get the job done.  There isn’t going to be a big write-up about how I put a bike together, I just got it done.  So, Sue, Bri and anyone else who would have been interested, I am sorry for taking the quick road on this one.  On the positive side of this, instead of having to slog along on the Cannondale with the guys today, I’ll be able to take the Trek out for it’s first road ride.  In about four hours as a matter of fact.

Complete rebuild time was about three, maybe four hours including all adjustments and a few trips to the bike shop for a few things that I needed.

9 Comments

  1. bribikes says:

    Hey, no worries! You already put a huge time investment into this blog. Tax season is a brutal time of year and you gotta do what you gotta do. And what you gotta do is take a ride on your sleek beast. Have fun out there 🙂

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    No need to apologize Jim. You know what would be fun and easy another time is time lapse video. We have just started playing with that and you just set it up to take photos every 1-10 seconds. Anyway enough of my ideas. You are probably ready to block me from the blog. 🙂

  3. It’s OK. Pictures of the finished bike are sufficient. I come here to pick up some additional enthusiasm from you and am never disappointed — I don’t need to see your face to gather that enthusiasm.

  4. Sandra says:

    It’s okay! By the way, HOW WAS THE RIDE!? 🙂

    • bgddyjim says:

      That comes out this morning…. at 7 am our time (or noon WordPress Time). Sorry about taking so long to get back to you. I went to see 13 hours with my buddy Pete last night and it was pretty intense. By the time I got home I was entirely wiped out. I went right to sleep.

Leave a Reply

