Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Venge Day 2016! WOOHOO!

Venge Day 2016! WOOHOO!


Badass!  Never before has there been such a just reason for missing a day of work.  It’s been well over a year and a half (maybe two) since my last sick day, so I never need those.  I may as well use them for something worthwhile, eh?

45-1/2 Miles, 2:21:00
18.5 mph average and I was smiling the whole time – never even a negative thought, let alone worrying about having enough in the tank to finish.  Spent a ton of time up front, had a blast and enjoyed the perfect weather (if it was a little cloudy, but at 65 degrees, just below room temperature, who really cares after a long winter?).

image

image

Oh, and anyone who tries to tell you the bike doesn’t matter, that it’s all the engine, is frickin’ nuts… We obviously had the good bikes out today and it was amazingly, spectacularly awesome how much easier it was to go fast.  We spent a good six miles with a bit of a cross-tailwind between 24 & 26 and there was plenty left in the reserves to go faster (we didn’t want to blow up Mrs. Bgddy who was showing signs of tiring out).

Anyway, it was an excellent Venge day (and Alias day for my wife, and Madone 7 Series for my buddy, Mike).  Not bad, either…  98 miles in three days, two north of 18 mph and we haven’t even hit the tenth of March yet.

It’s going to be a good year, and I’m ready for it.

PS:  Sorry, no in pace line photos, I had gloves on and I didn’t want to mess with my phone.  I was simply having too much fun.

 

15 Comments

  1. Epic! 🙂 Glad your weather is improving. It was minus 4 degrees C on my ride this morning, tomorrow’s ride will be in torrential rain. Grrrr! And yeah, anyone who says “it’s not about the bike” hasn’t ridden enough nice bikes!

  2. As the English would say, “Good on you, man!” Working out the last fit bits on my Venge (handlebars stock at 44, need 40) and cranks (need shorter says the fitter) and the stem (out to 130.) Then good to go.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Wow, 130?! That’s a lot of stem, brother. Good thing you’re switching out that bar too, I can’t believe they’d even ship it with a 44… My 5200 had a 44 on it and I hated it. I’ve got 42’s on both and it’s much more comfortable. Sharp bike, man. You’re gonna love it. I missed mine immensely.

  3. bribikes says:

    The Venge and Alias take to the roads again…
    I can’t believe it is spring already, I had my first short-sleeve day of the season today, felt amazing!

    • bgddyjim says:

      Sadly we went out too early for short sleeves. #jealous!

      • bribikes says:

        Well, the roads are still salty here (we need a good rain) so I took the mtb out, so I say you still got the better part of the deal 😀 Those are happy looking bikes!

      • bgddyjim says:

        Yeah, the camera didn’t pick up all of the dirt. It took me 20 minutes to clean it up again. I put it away for a while. It was nice but we need more rain to clean the roads better too.

  4. Dan says:

    There seems to be a WordPress trend today on epic (what a great word!) rides. I shed the long sleeves at mile 40. I think my nose is burned too. Like I said: EPIC

  5. this post is everything. it reads like happiness and wonderful. 🙂

  6. Rat Catcher says:

    funny though…re: bikes don’t matter, all engine. I remember racing against a guy in like 2002…a particularly hilly and rainy race…and some dude (whom later went euro-pro) crashed and the. spent the last thirty minutes of the race on a solo chase back to the lead group of say 15 strong riders. He caught and dropped us on the final climb…made us look like we were standing still. All this on a 20-year-old 30 lbs Ciotta or something.

    Not to say the bike doesn’t matter…but it that case…it didn’t. On a faster, lighter and better bike, we never would have stood a chance. Hell, we didn’t anyway.

Leave a Reply

