Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Cycling and Training; Decisions, Decisions…

Cycling and Training; Decisions, Decisions…


Yesterday I had a choice to make…  After a 100 mile weekend on the first week of the cycling season, do I:

A)  Choose the trainer and go for an easy 45 minutes, covering 17 miles without moving an inch.

Or

B)  Take my bike with me to the kids’ swimming practice and work on some climbing (there’s lots if you know where to go).

Some things to consider:

1.  It rained all of yesterday afternoon and the night before.  The weather man is calling for rain, ending around noon but it’ll be wet either way.

2.  The first club ride of the season is this evening.

3.  My legs are feeling a little smoked after a 200 mile week.

I’ll tell you, option A was mighty tempting if a little stupid, the day before the club ride.  I thought, if I just take it easy, climbing every hill I can find, it might be okay.  Yeah, I wouldn’t take it easy and I’d still climb every hill I could find – that’s just how I roll (it’s valuable to be able to assess a situation honestly).

On the other hand, I’m a little tired and sore so that spin on the trainer would be vastly more boring but better for my legs.

I went for option B. Seriously. No, really. I chose the trainer over an outdoor ride for the first time.  Ever. No, seriously. Yes, really. I did. Okay, this is getting a little silly, knock it off, would ya?! I chose the trainer just this once, there is no conspiracy hypothesis.

I needed it too. I felt like a million bucks after that spin. I had a little bit of back pain going in but was loose and feeling awesome after.  I’ll go into the club ride in much better shape this evening…  Also, we had quite a bit of rain to clean the roads and it’s supposed to be sunny and 60 this evening, with just a shade more than a breeze for wind.  No need for the rain bike tonight!

So, on tap for tomorrow: The 2016 Series of my Tuesday night club ride posts…

2 Comments

  1. Rat Catcher says:

    For what it’s worth, I’d say that most serious athletes tend to do too much and would benefit from less time on the bike. Not that you fall into this category, but food for thought.

    For example plenty of top XC pros only ride like 15 hours a week when they have a world cup race on the weekend. Granted they’ve put in the effort during the off-season (in the weight room, on the trails and the road) but they still aren’t pushing themselves too hard when they know they’ve got a big effort coming up.

    While we’re not all racing WC or even top-level national or regional races, we all have personal goals and can adapt our workload accordingly.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Actually, being an older fella – well, maybe just say that I passed up my prime long ago – I only spend about 10-12 hours a week on the bike in season. Sadly my day job gets in the way of any more than that. However, we do have a few multi-day rides to train for and for all intents and purposes, our Tuesday night ride is stocked with several races and may as well be a race (we were holding 30 mph last night on flat ground). That said, I fall into the “my hard efforts aren’t hard enough and my easy efforts aren’t easy enough category”. I’m trying to figure out how to turn that around but I have a great bunch of friends that I ride with and I’m one of the stronger among us and that’s good enough. When I’m struggling to hang on to the group on Tuesday and all of my friends have already fallen off the back, it’s real hard not to say, “You know what, that’s good enough… I’ll slow it up and ride with my buds.” In the end, I like the speed. I just have my limits.

Leave a Reply

