Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » CYCLISTS SHAVING THEIR LEGS PROVEN TO BE MORE AERODYNAMIC…

CYCLISTS SHAVING THEIR LEGS PROVEN TO BE MORE AERODYNAMIC…


That’s right boys.  Shaving the guns will make you faster.  Or maybe, less slow but let’s not split hairs, eh?  Either way, get out the weed whacker and mow ’em down!

Specialized tested hairy legs vs. glistening guns in their wind tunnel.  More than a minute better, in fact (they always publish “over a 40 km time trial” with their products so I’m assuming that’s the case with this too)

7:04 into the video:

Now, ladies and gentlemen, let me just say that I do indeed have glistening guns.  I’d trimmed my leg hair for almost a decade to keep it from getting too bushy before cycling but when I started road cycling I put razor to leg the day before my first ever club ride (to find that only State and Categorized racers shave their legs in our neck of the woods – and believe me, I’m neither).  That said, my wife rather digs it so I’ve stuck with it.  So much in fact, that when I talked to her about growing my leg hair back for the winter, she asked that I not.  Go figure!  Happy wife, happy life.

Anyway, now you can shave with confidence and when someone asks you why you do, you know longer have to tell the whole truth:  “‘Cuz it makes my legs look awesome”.  Now you can lie and still tell the truth by saying that it makes you faster on your bike – a minute over 25 miles, in fact.  Ah, the joys of mixing cycling and politics!

wp-1448991071774.jpg

Slicker than snot on a door knob…

11 Comments

  1. Haha awesome! Although I’d probably still do it even if it came out one minute slower in the wind tunnel. #lookpro

  2. Oh and Peter Sagan lost Tirreno-Adriatico by ONE SECOND. He had hairy legs for all but the final TT stage. So, did hairy legs cost the World Champ the overall victory?

  3. Anon says:

    Given what I know of aerodynamics from bowling in cricket (where you use the rough side of the ball to make it curve in the air, similar to the reason golf balls are dimpled) I’d like to see what would happen if you shaved the front of your legs and left the back hairy, as I think it’d be even quicker. Not a great look though…

  4. X-D

    when guys show up to ride with stubble or braidable hair on their guns… i’m knocked out by the weird of it anymore! why in the world would anyone with hard-earned masculine muscled guns hide them behind hair??

  5. Sheree says:

    I never noticed before I started cycling, but men’s hairy legs now gross me out. My husband keeps his slick all year round. I’m with your wife on this one Jim.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Thanks Sheree. Your continued support of this most important issue of men’s grooming habits is greatly appreciated.

      I hope that sentence made you chuckle… 😉

  6. […] it is more aerodynamic.  This is a proven fact and if you try to hit the comments section saying anything different, […]

Leave a Reply

