Fit Recovery

Home » Uncategorized » Pretty Tough… I Think. Maybe?

Pretty Tough… I Think. Maybe?

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

I usually don’t fancy myself as all that tough. I am, kind of, I guess, but I just don’t think of myself like that – mostly because, with cycling, for some crazy reason, I judge what I physically do in conjunction with what’s going on in my head…..

Yesterday’s forecast was awesome, well not really, it was supposed to be very cold even for March but the snow and rain were supposed to hold off till noon, which was great because we were riding at 8:30. I figured 40 miles, call it two hours and some change, we should be back and showered before the nasty stuff showed up. Perfect.

I knew Mike was going to bring his 5200 so I prepped mine but thought better of it just before we headed out. I got the Venge ready. I wanted to check out the new tires anyway. Mike pulled up early on his 5200 and when I wheeled out the Venge he looked at me like I’d just stabbed him in the gut. Long story shortened, I put the Venge back. Friends just don’t do that to friends…. and Mike said he’d stick me at the front for the for the bulk of the ride. Apparently friends do do that to friends.

25 miles out, more than 15 miles from home if we took the proper route home, the first snow started falling. Slow at first, just a flake here and there. We had our buddy Brad with us who is fresh off of chemo in January and hernia surgery less than two months ago so when it really started coming down we couldn’t put the hammer down or we’d have dropped him. I can’t leave a buddy out there in that shit on his own. I’m a strong, healthy horse so I took the front, my wife took up the rear because she had a flasher and we got Brad home.

The cool part was, with my wife on the back, she could call out if I started dropping Brad so we managed to stay tight. For our effort, Brad drove us home the last six miles.

I don’t typically think of myself as tough. I’m just glad I brought my Trek…

 

image

15 Comments

  1. Kecia says:

    Tough…yes. Crazy…DEFINITELY 🙂

  2. To tough for me, I woke up this morning with snow on the ground so I decide to wait until after church to go for a run and not get on the bike today.

  3. Ian says:

    Good ride buddy!!

  4. shouldering says:

    A day to remember! The harder days always stand out. Great read!

  5. Sheree says:

    Sheer madness but fun!

  6. tischcaylor says:

    Cool pics — or should I say stone cold pics? Way to go!

  7. You didn’t get the high winds? We had Wizard of Oz type winds here. I saw a witch pedal a bicycle past my second floor window.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Nope! We were maybe 15, gusting to 20 but that’s it.

      One of these days I wanna try having someone pick us up 60 miles in whichever way the wind is blowing… That’d be a blast!

Leave a Reply

