Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » The Final Ride of the Week: Too Cold for Comfort.

The Final Ride of the Week: Too Cold for Comfort.

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Yesterday’s forecast was much like our humorous suffer-fest on Saturday. Only colder. A lot colder. With the windchill it “felt like” 14 degrees and sadly, that’s not Celsius. The snow was supposed to show up again at noon. As it turned out, there was still ice on the paved roads. When my buddy Mike called I told him no chance, I was riding on the trainer.

Mrs. Bgddy made a wonderful farewell breakfast for our in-laws who were heading home with our kids for a few days… Mike called again shortly after breakfast and said he was riding the dirt roads on his mountain bike. My wife wanted to go. “Crap”, I thought. “I was so looking forward to not being cold today.”

We dressed and I prepped the bikes. I figured, “Ah, well, it’ll beat the trainer anyway”.

As it turned out, it had warmed up a little bit, maybe mid-twenties. Sadly, that’s not near warm enough to melt the ice on the roads so we had no choice but take the mountain bikes and stick to the dirt roads where we would at least have some traction.

We rolled out and spent a little more than an hour and fifteen minutes in the saddle. We only made fifteen miles of the ordeal, spending an inordinate amount of time just trying to find a line over and around the frozen ice-capped potholes…

Unlike the 70 to 100 mile days of summer, I don’t get much beyond fitness out of riding in the cold. I do it because it’ll make me faster and appreciate the warm days more but other than that, it pretty much sucks. It just sucks a little less than the trainer.

To wrap this up, it was a bit of a down week with only 163 miles, but considering the weather I’m quite happy with the total.  My weight seems to have stalled out a little bit but I can tell that’s due to muscle gain because my “gut” is quite a bit flatter and the mirror is backing that up.  That said, this week is going to be tough sledding.  With unseasonably cold temperatures entrenched for the rest of the week, I’ve resigned myself to a lot of trainer miles.  I’m not terribly happy about it but it beats riding in the freezing rain, which would obviously be beyond stupid without special equipment..

2 Comments

  1. ekels22 says:

    I just got my new Propel on Saturday and the weather took a turn for the worse. I took it out yesterday for a 3 mile ride through the park. I really enjoyed the race set up compared to the endurance set up on my Roubaix. The Roubaix I felt like I constantly had to go in the drops for speed. On the propel i’m pretty low and comfortable on the hoods. Can’t wait for the weather to break so I can get out and test how it feels over 40 miles. It has Ultegra Di2 which is a big upgrade for me compared to Sora on the Roubaix. I have to admit it feels and shifts real nice.

    Your blog really inspired me to go from a guy who enjoyed riding a mountain bike for fitness to becoming a real road cyclist.

    • bgddyjim says:

      AWESOME! That’s a really nice bike, man – and you’re going to love the Di2… A buddy of mine just had it put on his Madone 7 and says he’ll never go back to mechanical shifting. Enjoy the ride, and thanks man. I appreciate it. 😉

Leave a Reply

