Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Sick of the Cold….

Sick of the Cold….

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

I rode yesterday.  Road bikes.  Dammit it was cold.  Below freezing, yet again. 

Today’s high will just barely crack freezing.  It’s going to be another cold one.  Riding is up in the air though… we’ve got snow barreling down on us from the north.  Not much, apparently, but snow nonetheless.  If anything, we might put some time in on the mountain bikes.

I hate having to get bundled up in three layers just to keep from freezing.  I’m tired of it. 

If course, this is better than what’s coming tomorrow.  Snow and rain, so it’ll be an hour or two chilling on the trainer.  I’m tired of that damned thing too. 

I get this way every year.  I’m itchy to sweat – but not because I screwed up and overdressed.  March came in like a lion and went out like a tyrannosaurus rex.  It’s snowed more days so far in April than it didn’t.  If we get one or two days with some snow, in April, it’s a rarity.  Five or six of eight is just nuts.

We’re close though.  This time next week we should be riding in knee warmers and arm warmers.  If we wait till the afternoon to ride (not likely) we could conceivably end up in short sleeves and shorts. 

Whatever is in store for us this weekend, the end of winter is near and I go from looking forward to being done with a ride to tacking on extra miles because I’m not ready to be done.  I can’t wait.  I need some warmth and sunshine. 

I’ll get my saddle time in with this crap.  I won’t like it, but I’ll do it because saddle time beats the alternative; working twice as hard as my friends to catch up.

9 Comments

  1. woke up to 4 inches on snow this morning not how I like my April Saturdays

  2. Kecia says:

    I’m so over this weather. I just want it to be in the 70s and sunny!

  3. ekels22 says:

    I’ve had the new propel for a week and haven’t even broke the 20 mile mark. I’ve been taking out the fat bike which I don’t mind the cold but getting pelted in the face with freezing rain isn’t exactly what I call fun. This Michigan weather is not agreeing with my cycling goals.

  4. Tony says:

    We have had cold here in Chicago, but that isn’t so bad. What has been difficult to deal with is these days with three seasons in 24 hours. Several different days I have been out in bright sun when suddenly it turned dark and started hailing, or snowing, or some bizarre combination thereof. Wild fluctuations!

  5. dropped down to the lower 60’s today had to put on a hoodie, we’ve had some rain here too and ill i have is short sleeved jerseys…

Leave a Reply

