Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Fitness: Whatever It F@€K!N’ Takes.

Fitness: Whatever It F@€K!N’ Takes.


I pulled into my driveway at 5 minutes to 3 yesterday afternoon.  The girls have swimming practice at 5 so if I’m going to get a ride in, it’s gotta be before I take them…  I don’t like taking off that early but when you show up between 6 and 6:30 in the morning for work, leaving early can be justified from time to time.

I threw on my cycling stuff, filled up a water bottle and ran out the door.  I wasn’t a mile down the road before my phone started blowing up.  It seems it’s going to be one of those years.  See, I’m cool with ignoring my phone after 5 but too many of my competitors ignore theirs during business hours.  I won’t be that guy.

I turned my bike around and headed home.  When I pulled into the driveway, I took the front wheel off and stuffed my bike into the trunk – that’s the boot for you folks in the UK.  I headed inside and took my top layers off and set them aside.  I sat down and took care of business.

When it was time I packed the kids in the car and dropped them at practice.  I pulled my bike out, set it up, got dressed and knocked out a monster hill workout for a little over 45 minutes.  I did it on the 22 pound Trek, not the 17 pound Venge (How funny is that? My aero bike is the light bike).  With the club ride tomorrow evening I didn’t want to overdo it but I’m righteously cooked sitting here writing this.

My fitness is worth whatever it f@ckin’ takes.  I don’t care how I have to shove sh!t around, I’m getting my ride in.  Dude, I worked too damn hard to get here.  There’s no way I’m going back to being that fat, lazy bastard who was sitting there all sorry for myself, polishing the couch with my frickin’ sweatpants, spouting donut shop lies*.

We all slip from time to time.  Whether we believe the committee that tries to sabotage the good we do or we just plain hit a lazy streak.  It happens.  Not to me, but I imagine it happens to some people…  I just wanted to throw that in there for the “it’s not my fault” crowd.  Anyway, for those of us who enjoy cycling (or whatever active hobby you like), there are constants in life:

I can’t get fat when I’m watching what I eat and getting my daily ride in.  Getting fat under those conditions is impossible.

There is nothing better than throwing a good bike ride at life’s problems.

Anyone can talk tough when it comes to the consequences of being overweight.  You won’t be talking smack when that bus comes around the corner to pick you up.

Fitness doesn’t guarantee longevity.  It does , however, increase the odds by more than enough to matter.

Life will either be great or it will suck.  Which one is entirely dependent on my attitude, outlook and effort.

 

6 Comments

  1. Helena Kotala says:

    All those constants are true, but I like that last one the best. Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Tony says:

    You are right. You have to make your fitness and health a priority. Period.

  3. MJ Ray says:

    Never mind the boot: if I drop the rear seats, a road bike just fits with both wheels out. The main thing your post reminds me is that US cars are huge! Some like the Toyota Yaris are actually entirely different chassis to the European car of the same name.

Leave a Reply

