Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » A 43 Mile Recovery Ride…

A 43 Mile Recovery Ride…

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

The weather around here has finally turned. Good GOD, it’s about time too! The answer to temperatures in the mid 60’s (17-18 c for you metric folks) is, God help me for putting it this way, a liberal dose of mileage.

My wife, my buddy Mike and I headed out yesterday morning bright and early.  It was cool to start but it warmed up fast.  We were pedaling easy at 19 mph and it was simply pure awesome on two wheels.  We were something like 14 miles out before we realized we’d had a gentle breeze pushing us the whole way – we were going to eat wind the whole way home.  Still, at the pace we were going, Mike and I were taking 4 mile turns up front.  We also tried to keep an eye on my wife who has a tendency to try to match Mike and I in time up front and she’s just not quite there yet…  She ends up cooking herself way too soon.  We’d let her go for a mile, maybe a little more, before we jumped in front of her.  That worked out perfectly.  She was fresh right up till the last mile when we sat up and rode home easy.

We did 43-1/2 miles (my wife’s second 40+ mile ride in two days) at better than a 17.5 mph pace.

This morning we’re heading out for another 50+ miles.  The weather’s going to be even better… and tomorrow we’re into the 70’s with abundant sunshine and nothing but time to turn a s#!+ ton of miles.  Ah, life is good.  I missed this…

Of course, it’s not necessarily perfect, even though it will be impossibly sunny, with almost no wind to speak of. It’ll be 45 when we start and 70 by the time we’re done. How do you dress for that?! I’ll give you a clue… It’s gonna be a cold start.

And one final note: When shopping for cycling clothing, be sure to check out Nashbar.com for some fantastic deals. I bought a new kit yesterday:

image

image

image

I spent less on that full pro-quality kit that I spent on a single Specialized jersey that I bought for my wife the other day… Delivered to my doorstep. This will be my third and fourth piece of Cavalo kit and I can tell you, it’s pro cut sizing so you have to order a size larger, but it’s quality kit, worth double what I paid for it.

9 Comments

  1. Had a look at Nashbar, but despite saying they ship to the UK, no PayPal facility yet.

  2. ekels22 says:

    Nice kit thanks for the tip great deal think i’m going to order one.

Leave a Reply

