Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Reason #4,276 to Ride a Bicycle for Fitness…

Reason #4,276 to Ride a Bicycle for Fitness…


Reason #4,276 to ride a bicycle for fitness…

You never run out of energy on vacation… at least not before you run everyone else into the dirt.

One of the most enjoyable aspects of being fit is being able to get the most out of a vacation.  Only once have I been content to simply sit by and look at the beach and ocean over the tips of my toes.  That was for our second honeymoon, we went down to Punta Cana in the Dominican Republic.  The weather was virtually perfect until our last day there and we did a lot of hanging out at the beach.  Still, we managed to kayak on the ocean, take out a catamaran, snorkel on the reef and swim with some rather large nurse sharks.  I hopped a ride on the dorsal fin of a nine footer for a few feet after watching out guide do it…  I figured if he, a native of the Dominican Republic who had been doing this for years, could do it, well so could I…  A native of Michigan who had only ever seen a shark up close in the movie, Jaws.  My wife was not amused, though we certainly laugh about it today.

We head down south every summer and spend a lot of time hiking and exploring in addition to swimming and playing cards till the wee hours of the morning.  While I have my limits, I am one of the last adults* to run out of energy when it comes to the physical side of the festivities.

I ride a bicycle 100 miles in less than five hours – a hike down the Appalachian Trail for an hour or two is literally a walk in the park.

For that I am grateful.

*I specified adults because we also bring the kids… and those little farts have a freaking endless supply of energy.  Dammit.

8 Comments

  1. Trips are my best ways for me to stay motivated. I hate it when we can’t do something on a trip because of my fitness level.

  2. Tony says:

    Isn’t it interesting that people say kids keep you young. I always felt they reminded me of how I was getting old.

    • bgddyjim says:

      I can absolutely see both sides of that dollar bill… I have two young ones and I really have to stay motivated to keep up with them. On the other hand, man they do make me feel old on a regular basis too. Great point Tony.

  3. On my first cycle tour and can’t believe how much adrenaline and energy you get from a good ride. Great writing!

  4. Sheree says:

    I have yet to meet the child who could wear me out! Many have tried and failed.

Leave a Reply

