Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Training, Schmaining… Goals, Schmoals… Why not Just Ride (or Run, or Swim, I Suppose)

Training, Schmaining… Goals, Schmoals… Why not Just Ride (or Run, or Swim, I Suppose)

May 2016
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

I used to “train”.  I used to set goals.  I used to smash those goals on a regular basis.  I used to use those goals as motivation to “train”.  I used to use a fitness tracker on every ride.  I used to intricately dissect every last bit of data from my rides.  Speed, average speed, speed carried up a particular climb…  I stopped short at a power meter because they’re more money that I cared to sink into “data”…

Then I stopped.  Cold turkey, if you will.

My goals are much simpler today.  Be ready for this ride, be in good enough shape to do that ride at better than 20 mph…  Things like that, nothing specific.  Boiled down even further, if one or more of my friends says, before the spring is through, “man, you’re strong this year”, I’m good.  I’m where I need to be.

I don’t need goals like I used to.  I definitely don’t need the data.  I don’t need anything for motivation anymore.  And for good reason:

I need to ride.

I often read the posts of others who write about training and I find myself a little envious that I can’t write a post about my own training.  Then I remember that why I don’t have to train anymore and it puts a smile on my face…

Fitness is fun for me, and for that I am grateful.

Ride hard my friends.

image

7 Comments

  1. Dan says:

    Yep! Ride for the pure joy of the ride! The fitness is just a benefit.

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    I’m with you Jim. Stopped wearing my Garmin. For me it took away from the joy of getting out there.

    • bgddyjim says:

      It’s difficult for me to explain why that is too. I used to be all about the stats and numbers. That was part of the fun. Now it’s more about being a useful part of our rabble that puts a smile on my face. Go figure.

      Anyway, happy Mother’s Day Sue. 😆

  3. I think having a fitness community is a huge part of being able to do that. Having others to encourage you to work out and making it fun. I’m working on finding that community—but I have some good leads.

Leave a Reply

