Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » An Old Post on the Importance of Cadence in Cycling…

An Old Post on the Importance of Cadence in Cycling…

May 2016
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

The best advice I ever got as a budding cyclist had to do with cadence. The local shop owner, after watching me during a club ride, suggested I try to up my cadence a bit.

He likened pushing on the pedals to lifting weights.

When it comes down to it, it’s easier to ride at 20 mph with a 90 rpm cadence than it is to ride 18 mph with a cadence of 60.  Don’t take my word for it though, try it.

One final tidbit, many cyclists come over from running… Runners tend to mash a harder gear at a slower cadence. I was once one and I rode that way because it more closely mimicked the pressure applied during a run…

If you want to know the how and why of cadence, please check out this older post:

Cycling, Speed and Cadence – Why the 90 RPM Cadence is So Important to Cycling Fast – http://wp.me/p248iZ-46K

3 Comments

  1. bribikes says:

    One of the ladies on the group ride last night went at a great pace but I noticed how slow she was pedaling, sure enough when I talked to her she runs half marathons and does tri’s as well. She has some wicked strong legs! Of course, I still have lots of work to do myself in this area, 80 rpm is typical for me.

  2. Sandra says:

    Yup. I’m more like birbikes–80 is more typical for me, too.

Leave a Reply

