Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » “Whatever, Brother. I Roll with You.”

“Whatever, Brother. I Roll with You.”

May 2016
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

I’ve written quite a bit about my best cycling buddy, Mike but always just in passing.  Last year I spent more miles with Mike than anyone else.  It won’t be that way this year, mainly because my wife and I will be on a tandem quite a bit from now on.

That said, Mike and I are cut from the same cloth though he’s got quite a few years on me.  The age difference doesn’t matter much though – what matters is we ride the same pace and we are both utter cycling enthusiasts.

wp-1450581323492.jpg
Mike’s the guy in the lead, followed by my buddy, Phill, my wife, and Matt…

If there were a such thing as a “brother from another mother”, Mike is mine.  We’re very much the same when it comes to bike components matching, kit matching when we represent at special rides, etc..  We’re an odd couple of cycling buds but it works so we roll with it.

Every cyclist should be so lucky to have a buddy like Mike.  When one of us doesn’t want to ride, the other does.  Unless it’s raining before a scheduled ride then we’re of the same mind, “Meh, why get the bikes dirty?”  On the other hand, it takes a snow storm to make us cut a ride short once we’re on the road.

Mike and I have spent countless miles on the road, we’ve eaten so many post-ride meals together, I’ve lost track.  We even volunteer at the same events (I know, I don’t write about that much…  I always struggle with the axiom, “if you have to boast about doing good, you did nothing good”).

I’d roll anywhere with Mike, he is my best bud on two wheels.  I would call him my best “friend” on two wheels but my wife and I ride together, so that distinction is reserved for her.  If you don’t have a best cycling bud, find one.  They’re worth their weight in gold and make the sport that much more fun.

10 Comments

  1. Gail says:

    Difference between men and women? The “That said, Mike and I are cut from the same cloth though he’s got quite a few years on me” sentence. My girlfriends that are older than me would likely toss me in the nearest copse of bushes on our next long run. We’re cut throat like that. LOL!!! Kidding aside? It is priceless to have a biking buddy like Mike. Any kind of partner in fitness, really. Helps with accountability and, let’s face it, fitness is more fun when you can share it. Your kids are so lucky to have two parents that model fitness, health and wellness.

    • bgddyjim says:

      We try… It’s surprising how the laziness that other kids get away with affects my kids.

      As far as running vs. cycling goes, with running there’s more room for personal achievement… Mike and I can go much faster that just Mike or I can do on our own so the competition isn’t quite the same. Drafting is a huge part of cycling where you get a 30% break drafting someone else. My wife is intensely competitive but she knows she has to keep her draft. Cycling is more of a teamwork sport is what I’m trying to say.

  2. i think it’s not possible for non-cyclists to understand the bond between riding buddies. it truly can feel like a “sports marriage,” i think. this person who compliments your physical abilities, but who also pushes you and welcomes pushing from you, really does log a lifetime each season. 40 to 60-mile rides… with travel time to-and-from, and potential parking lot “gabbing,” or food grabs, can end up being in the neighborhood of 4 to 5-hours spent together… several times per week. i think having mike as your “cycling spouse” is fortunate. relationships like that… well, they can feel pretty golden, i’m sure.

  3. I have a friend like Mike when it comes to mountain biking, have a few from when I used to ride road. My friend, Jon, is 10 years younger, kicks butt (so we are not equals) and is one of those energizer bunny types that rides those no sleep marathon rides. But I am the first person he calls when he wants to ride single track and we have a blast!

Leave a Reply

