Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » The Cure for Saddle Sores?!!!

The Cure for Saddle Sores?!!!


Last weekend in Kentucky I developed a saddle sore in probably about the worst place a man can develop a saddle sore…  Let’s just keep it simple and PG with, there was absolutely no way I could avoid sitting on it.  Still, I muscled through the two days and 158 miles.

I rode 30 miles when we got back on Monday, and on the tandem where you can’t sit up to adjust…  It got worse.

I rode 38 miles on Tuesday with the club.  We averaged 21-1/2 mph.  I was in severe pain.  It was getting worse.  I asked a friend of mine who rides on Tuesday and who also happens to be a doctor, what I could do for the worst imaginable saddle sore.  It was bad enough that if it got any worse, I was going to have to take time off the bike and likely in the hospital for the infection.

He recommended and anti-fungal and a hydrocortisone cream, but to mix them.

I don’t like mixing drugs or even creams for that matter so I applied the antifungal (Lotrimin ULTRA) in the morning (once a day per instructions) and then the hydrocortisone cream (Cortisone 10) later in the day, and twice more as the day progressed (again, per instructions).  By the time of the first application there were all kinds of problems happening down there.  Blood, looked like some puss, loose, broken skin…  I was actually scared.

I rode on Wednesday on the Tandem.  Thursday 20 miles on my Venge, Friday 30-some miles on the tandem, Saturday 73 miles and some change, and 40 miles on Sunday…

The saddle sore is healed.  Entirely.  100%  pain free.  And because I applied it liberally to the entire saddle area, every little bump that comes with regular riding is healed and gone.
image

image

Both items are available in the US over the counter.  I am not a doctor and don’t know anything about those two creams or whether they can even be mixed in the first place, I just did what a doctor friend of mine suggested and it worked like a charm.  I recommend everyone who reads this check with their own doctor to make sure it’s safe before you try it.  With your doctor’s approval, go to it.  I’ve never had a saddle sore heal up so well and so fast without missing a day or two to stay off it.  Though I’ve written glowingly about Aquaphor but the Lotrimin/Hydrocortisone creams are next-level awesome.

18 Comments

  1. Sandra says:

    oh dear god.
    that was hard to read.
    glad it worked.
    thank you for not posting a photograph.
    pussman.
    you’re almost as tough as a woman–betting you could make it through labor. . . .

    • bgddyjim says:

      You know, the funny thing is there are people out there who would take a picture just for the clicks. As for labor, touchè. However… There’s a reason guys die sooner than women, on average, and it sure isn’t because we’re soft. 😎

  2. bribikes says:

    Niceness. (Not the saddle sore part, just the rapid healing part of course.) I have had some mild issues in the past week, now I know another option if things get worse. But hopefully they won’t, I am taking care of myself as best as I can!

  3. Saddle sore can be nuts for sure

  4. MJ Ray says:

    So do you know why you got a sore? Best to fix that and avoid more sores. An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.

    • bgddyjim says:

      LOL! Yes I do. 15 hours a week on a bike saddle – and there are no preventative measures for that. Except maybe 20 hours a week. It’s a part of big miles, man. No way around it.

      • MJ Ray says:

        I think you’re mistaken. I spent thirty hours in the saddle in Mayday week without getting in that bad a mess. Meanwhile, in a test ride a few weeks earlier, I got sore after eight hours, but I identified the cause and fixed it before the long weekend, else can you imagine what state I’d have been in after thirty?

      • bgddyjim says:

        Hmmmm… Maybe not though. Are you accounting for the difference in friction between riding twice, if not more, as fast? Pros get ’em too, brother. Just happens sometimes.

      • MJ Ray says:

        What difference in friction? Our legs move at similar speeds, but you go faster because you carry less weight and push bigger gears.

      • bgddyjim says:

        You have to know it’s more than bigger gears and lighter bikes… I ride a freaking leisure bike at 17-18 mph for crying out loud (it sucks, by the way, but it’s better than not riding.

      • MJ Ray says:

        How do you think we go faster on road bikes, then? If you’re pedalling slow squares on the leisure bike, then that’s probably part of why it sucked!

      • bgddyjim says:

        Chuckle. You couldn’t hold my wheel unless your teeth were firmly embedded in my shorts, son. Chuckle.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Dammit. You were right. I’m wrote a post about the sordid mess and it’ll publish this afternoon (Michigan, USA time) – about 8 or 9 pm your time. I apologize for giving you a hard time with your comment.

  5. LesH says:

    Cortizone 10. Husband and I each have our own tube because that stuff saves the day.

Leave a Reply

