Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Ask Me Again, Why I Ride all of those Miles…

Ask Me Again, Why I Ride all of those Miles…


I’m sitting at the car dealership waiting on my vehicle… it’s getting an oil change and the tires mounted about balanced.

I’m flanked by two people, one man, one woman, sipping on milk shakes.  The man is morbidly obese, easily pushing 400 pounds.  The woman, maybe 5’2″ easily weighs 40 pounds more than I do at 6′.  I can hear both of them laboring to breathe.  

My wife and I were about 18 miles into our ride and a motorist waited for us to pull out.  She barely fit in her small SUV and it was listing badly.

I feel sorry for fat people.  I know me, and I would constantly have a member of the melon committee nagging about the extra weight.  “You’re 46 years old and fat.  You’re going to die soon.  That heart of yours can’t take much more of this.”

On the other hand, there is one reason I’m still in the green with my BMI, even with my massive legs.  There’s one reason I can still run and play with my kids.  There’s one reason why I feel better today than I did when I was 30…  There’s one reason, at 46, I’m on no medication.  No blood pressure meds, no diabetes meds, nothing…  I hardly need an Aleve once or twice a month.  

I push myself away from the table before I’m full.

Oh, and this:

Lots and lots of that.  But for the grace of God, there go I.

10 Comments

  1. + no knee injuries from running 😉

    • bgddyjim says:

      I never had any problems with that. I was only running three or four times a week and I stuck to slower 8 minute miles, so I rarely had any problems other than plantar fasciitis once in a while.

  2. Brent says:

    I used to be over 400 pounds like the guy you sat next to at the car dealer. A pint of Haagen-Dazs was to me what a fifth of vodka is to an alcoholic. About 10 years ago, I got down to 250 with diet, exercise, therapy and a 12-step program. But I didn’t exercise much after I got to that weight, and while I had more endurance getting through the day, I still didn’t feel energized and alive all that often.

    I got back on the bike about 3 years ago and have been gradually increasing my mileage and getting faster all the time. Yesterday, I celebrated 24 straight days of riding, the most consecutive days on the bike in my entire life. Even though I only averaged 15 miles per day in that time, I beat my personal best on my standard training ride by 6% last week, smashing a record I set only 3 months ago.

    I took a day off today due to massive thunderstorms in my area, and really miss it. Will be back with a long ride tomorrow, though. I really feel better and people tell me I look better too, after completing this period of riding every day.

  3. Sheree says:

    So, so true!

  4. bribikes says:

    Dude, if I hadn’t started riding my bike there is no question in my mind that I would weigh at least 300lbs today. I love food and until I discovered the magic of cycling, I hated all exercise. Bikes are crazy awesome!!!

  5. Manu Stanley says:

    Keep working out, brother.
    I also feel for fat people. I see how others look at them. Some of them genuinely keep trying to work out and get slim and I cheer for them whenever I come across some such people during my rides.

Leave a Reply

