Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Tour de France and POC Helmets.

Tour de France and POC Helmets.

July 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

How did team Cannondale’s conversation go?

“M’kay, we’ve got the typical Cannondale cool green kit.  Now let’s work on the dome cover.”

“Hey, how about a POC lid?  Let’s go with yellow, one that’s too fat and makes our riders look like they’re riding in a Super Mario Brothers video game….”

“You mean a dome cover that makes our guys look like they’re wearing a mushroom top on their heads?!  BRILLIANT!

BRILLIANT

Normally I try to reserve my personal opinion because I know what I think does not matter, not even a little bit.  In the case of this monstrosity of a helmet, I feel pretty safe though.

The POC dome cover is, inarguably, the ugliest helmet on the planet.  It’s so ugly, it’s actually impossible to look cool wearing the lid.  Marcel Kittel, arguably the prettiest cyclist in the peloton, couldn’t look good in that helmet.  It’s that impossible.

Humorously, that stupid lid costs better than $240.  Dude, my daughter, when she was five, had a Finding Nemo helmet that was cooler than the POC dome.  Seriously.

After seeing that helmet at the front all day in Stage One, I’m calling for renaming it the POC WTFWYT Aero Helmet (What The F*** Were You Thinking).

Damn, that’s one ugly melon protector.  It deserves its own Velominati rule.  Just sayin’. 

12 Comments

  1. fastk9dad says:

    Yeah, the aero helmet is atrocious. The regular vented octal has grown on me over the years.

  2. rennrad says:

    huahuahuahua! i couldn’t agree more! a mix of flashy lemonhead + toad (mario bros)! 😂😂

  3. MJ Ray says:

    Are you sure it was yellow rather than their usual lime green? Yellow helmets at the Tour are normally for the leaders of the team classification (because the yellow- backgrounded numbers weren’t visible enough).

    I’ve mixed feelings towards POC. They’re one of the few to market helmets on safety but they don’t have any that hold the tougher Snell foundation certifications, but then not even many Specialized ones do any more except MTB.

    • bgddyjim says:

      It doesn’t make any sense but the helmet definitely does not match the kit… You can see it here: http://www.cyclingnews.com/news/poc-unveil-10-year-anniversary-edition-helmet-at-the-tour-de-france/

      • MJ Ray says:

        Still looks green to me, although it’s not the same shade as their jerseys – holy branding blooper, Batman!

      • bgddyjim says:

        Still, you have to admit, whoever picked that dome cover out spent too much time playing Super Mario Brothers.

        If you see it on TV, in the sunlight, it’s definitely got a yellow hue to it.

      • MJ Ray says:

        I’ve seen it on the TV… I’ve at least four channels of live Tour coverage to choose from! (itv, Eurosport, France 2 HD and RAI…) I hope you’ve got at least one over there in the US, as I think you don’t get much of the World Tour races… but I guess you’re still suffering English Armstrong-apologists Phil+Paul who have finally been dropped from itv, replaced by sports journalist Ned Boulting and ex-pro/doper-turned-gamekeeper David Millar.

      • bgddyjim says:

        We’ve got one channel, and you’re right, it’s Phil and Paul along with Bob. I’m okay with it though as I spend more time on the bike than watching others ride. Lately I’ve been able to flip between tour coverage and baseball so for an hour or two every night, I’m quite close to heaven on earth.

        As for baseball, I know. I feel the same way about football/soccer. It’s a cultural thing.

Leave a Reply

