Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Fit Recovery’s Cycling Dictionary: The Definition of Cross-train

Fit Recovery’s Cycling Dictionary: The Definition of Cross-train


You ever wonder if cross-training should be all one word, two words, or hyphenated?  Personally I have no idea myself but in this case hyphenated makes sense, so I’m rolling with it.

The Fit Recovery Cycling Dictionary defines the word cross-train thusly:

Cross-train
Krôs-trān

intransitive verb

:  to choose the mountain bike over the road bike on what is clearly a road day.  Vice-versa.

“I was going to ride a century tomorrow but I need to shake things up so I’m going to cross-train.”

The word “cross-train” means many things to many people.  When used during a conversation with your cycling friends, it only means one thing during the spring, summer or early fall months.  This is road season.  During the late fall months, the word changes meaning all on its own:  to choose the road bike over the mountain bike.

If one becomes discombobulated on which is the correct bike to choose and which version of “cross-train” is acceptable, talk about the weight or awesomeness of your bike.  See also the Webster definition of “distraction

 

10 Comments

  1. bribikes says:

    Haha! I thought I was all cool and doing the “cross-training” thing when I was in Colorado by hiking up that mountain but what was the end result? Twisting my ankle! It ending up hurting so bad that I couldn’t ride my bike until the next day! So your definition sounds great to me 🙂

  2. Did you see Sagan’s Venge ViAS photos on BikeRadar? Raw frame to save weight and a big man’s 54T up front!

    http://www.bikeradar.com/road/news/article/peter-sagans-specialized-venge-vias-47465/

  3. Hmmmm….. watch it. You cross train, you may never go back.

Leave a Reply

