Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » …And Now It’s Time for a Breakdown

…And Now It’s Time for a Breakdown


I was out yesterday afternoon for a 20 mile ride and I realized that I’m tired.  Not just “I don’t feel like pushing on the pedals” tired, I’m tired.  For the first time in five years I’ve gotten to the point where I can almost see that I’m doing too much cycling.  Let’s just say it’s not a fully formed thought, there are just signs that are a little jumbled up and if put in the right order they could mean something.

I’m just not going to bother putting them in order.  The writing is on the walls, even if it’s just scribbles right now.

It’s time for a little bit of a break, to take time to recharge and get excited again.

More later.

11 Comments

  1. Kecia says:

    You are getting a dose of IM training…that’s why we need recovery weeks 😉

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    Jim I think this is a good thing. No one can train every day enthusiastically forever. Rest days really are important for mind and body.

  3. Gail says:

    I don’t believe in rest days myself. Not being a cow, just don’t believe in them. What I DO believe in is listening to your body and taking a break from something that doesn’t give you the joy it should. Even if the break is one day or two weeks or even a month. Whatever. I also believe in recovery days. Those are not, for me anyway, rest days. I’m just out there doing something else to keep my fitness on point, but will ADD to my running when I get back to it. It’s why I love and teach Pilates.

    Can’t wait to hear what you do about this “tired” thing.

  4. Manu Stanley says:

    Is there a feeling called “I have done too much cycling”? Maybe I am asking this question because I am yet to cycle enough. But I agree, it is best to take some breaks in between. I know it is hard, but maybe it would bring the best in you and help you maintain the form. All the best! 🙂

    • bgddyjim says:

      Thanks Manu. There is, actually, too much cycling but it’s tricky. I rode 1,000 miles in June with only one day off all month, I think… I was riding massive miles on Saturdays and Sundays as well and at pretty fair speeds (I think my average speed was 19 mph over those 1000 miles). Simply put, I was tired. I definitely needed a break.

Leave a Reply

