Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Sometimes Fitness comes down to Proper Timing…

Sometimes Fitness comes down to Proper Timing…


Sometimes fitness comes down to Proper timing…  Others it’s more about making time work for me.  If all else fails, it’s about taking what I get and running with it.

The weather yesterday sucked.  It had rained all night long and when I woke up at 3 am it was still coming down.  I had a couple of cups of coffee, watched some TV and took a nap around 6.  I checked the radar again at 8 and it was still ugly.  I woke up again, for good this time, at 9.  It had stopped raining while I was looking at the back of my eyelids.  I checked the radar and it was spotty.

Brad called at 9:30 looking for someone to ride with.  He’d seen that it was supposed to break up for the afternoon… so ate some breakfast and took another nap (who says you can’t catch up on sleep?).

I woke up at 10:30 to a work call, bright eyed and bushy tailed.  I checked the weather.  It showed a three hour window before the thunderstorms returned so I called Brad back.  Ten minutes later I was on the road, rolling toward Brad on the rain bike. 

We did 35 miles, on the nose, and encountered about 30 seconds of sprinkles though the sky was looking pretty ugly several times.  With 25 miles in, we hit a stretch of damp roads – we’d managed to ride around a rain showers.
Our pace was a little slow at just under two hours but that was the idea.  We’ve got a big century tomorrow. 

I had a nice lunch and an excellent steak dinner, taking some time to tend to some simple household chores so my wife can come home to a reasonably clean home.

Some days I have to take what I can get.  I’d wanted 60 miles but that just wasn’t in the cards.  Better to squeeze in what I can than come up with a donut shop lie* – that I just couldn’t get a ride in because [insert excuse here].

*For those who don’t know, a donut shop lie is a lie told to the folks sitting at the bar in the donut shop that usually starts out “I can’t watch my weight because…”  The teller of such a lie doesn’t quite believe the lie but hopes the bobble heads at the donut shop will buy it, thus improving the self-esteem.  Chuckle.

2 Comments

  1. Gail says:

    A planned 18 km long run that gets turned into a 5 km dash because of thunderstorms is still better than no run at all. “Some days I have to take what I can get”. Love that.

Leave a Reply

