Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Trek’s ABC’s of Awareness – When on Two Wheels, Be Seen.

Trek’s ABC’s of Awareness – When on Two Wheels, Be Seen.

September 2016
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

I received an email from Trek covering three aspects of being seen as a cyclist.  It’s a bit of a no-brainer, but important nonetheless.

Recently, with the spate of cycling accidents that have hit the news cycle, I’ve decided to run a blinky whenever I’m not in a big group.  It does, of course, make sense to run one all of the time but let’s face it, 20 cyclists moving down the road in a double pace line is as visible as a semi-truck, just a little shorter.

That said, the second one (I’ll leave you to read it for yourself) was definitely a bit of a surprise (and a good reason for a new purchase)!

Check it out.

8 Comments

  1. biking2work says:

    I use a blinky red at the back and have started using one at the front in the mornings as while its light out still, the quality of brightness is sadly waning. I feel safer at night on the back lanes where there is no street lighting-I feel lit up like a beacon because of it and vehicles mostly tend to give me a wider berth than on street lit roads because of it. Or that’s my theory anyway. No way will anyone get me in those fluoro thermal leg warmers though!

  2. Tony says:

    I ride in the dark regularly around semi trailer trucks in mortal fear of them killing me and not even knowing I was there. Besides my Torch helmet (the one with the flashing LEDs front and back), I have bought reflective tape which I put on my down tube and cross bar. I also wear reflective snap bands on my arms. I also have a flashing light on my handle bar. If some of this sounds redundant, that’s fine by me.

    • bgddyjim says:

      Nope, sounds just about right to me for your situation. Night time cycling, while awesome fun, should only be done if the cyclist is lit up like a Christmas tree. I have a Sugoi Zap jacket and absolutely love it. I also have the front headlight and rear blinky… though admittedly, being a self-respecting roadie, I took my reflectors off my bike before I had a mile on it. 😉

      • Tony says:

        Wasn’t it you that mentioned the Lumos Helmet? I think they have finally got it on the market. Will be interesting to see how it sells. Personally, I think there is too much going on with it, like having to flash to signal turns when cars probably won’t see the helmet light anyway.

      • bgddyjim says:

        I did a small write up on them a while back but I haven’t devoted much thought to owning one. As many miles as I put in, I imagine the extra weight would cause some neck problems. I only ride at night one time a year so my blinky, a Serfas Thunderbolt, is more than enough.

        I will say this, where I live and ride, motorists seem to treat me more reasonably when it’s on.

      • Tony says:

        I can attest to the fact that I am noticed more with my flashing Torch helmet and get some consideration from drivers.

      • bgddyjim says:

        Everyone I talk to says the same thing a

Leave a Reply

