Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » My Little Baby Isn’t so Little Anymore.

My Little Baby Isn’t so Little Anymore.


That’s my soon to be thirteen year-old daughter on the right, riding her mom’s 56 cm rain bike.  The road bike I bought her last year is already too small for her.

We did sixteen miles in just over an hour and managed to beat the rain by about seven minutes.

As was expected, she’s much faster on the bigger bike.  

To set it up, I dropped the handlebar down, stacking the spacers above the stem.  Then I flipped the stem to take the rise out of it.  Next up was the saddle.  Lowered and leveled it.  It was set a little too far back though, so after eight miles I pushed it forward about an inch.  With that done, she was able to maintain 16-17 mph, 19-20 with a tailwind.  Not bad for a not-so-little kid.

This morning we wrapped up a perfect 7 for 7 week with a fantastic 42 miles in wonderful conditions.  62 degrees, entirely sunny and a 4 mph breeze.  They don’t make many mid-September days like this, I can tell you that.

It’s kind of nice lately… not worrying about how many miles I’m getting in during the week (I’ve dropped from 230-270 down to 170) or about the pace.  I’m just enjoying the ride and having fun.

Makes all of the hard miles over the summer worth it.  Funny how that works, eh?

2 Comments

  1. Dan says:

    Can’t wait till my grandkids get old enough for this! I couldn’t get my kids interested.

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    How fun to be out with your daughter and just riding for the love of riding. Life doesn’t get much better than that.

Leave a Reply

