Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » My Best Piece of Hunting Clothing is Cycling Kit!

My Best Piece of Hunting Clothing is Cycling Kit!


I am not fond of the cold.  I put up with it, living in Michigan, but I don’t like it.  Hunting in October isn’t too bad but it does have its cold days.  Saturday we woke up to 35 degrees.  Now, let me tell you something about hunting and cold…  If, like me, you don’t like the cold, it sucks when you’re moving around in it.  It really sucks when you’re trying to sit still in it.  When you find yourself sitting out in the cold waiting for a deer to waltz into your little corner of the woods, your only as good as your weakest layer.

I used to buy into the idea that if you take care of your core the rest will take care of itself.  That holds validity when I’m moving around, say on my bike, but put me in a blind sitting on my but for five hours and that “take care of the core” crap goes right out the window.

This year I decided to try something a little out of the box, for my legs.  My legs are the pain in my ass when it comes to the cold so I thought, “Hey, if cycling tights are so awesome in the cold, maybe they’d work for hunting as well”.

specialized-therminal-tights

Meet the Specialized Therminal cycling tight, minus the chamois of course.  One word:  Awesome.

After a full weekend up north living in a popup camper in some fairly cold temps down to 35 degrees (or 1 C), I’ll just say I’m a much happier man and leave it at that.  Cycling is badass.

Its a rare day that thinking outside the box works that well.

 

 

7 Comments

  1. How do you get the human stink out of the tights?

  2. Does this tight have a windstopper front panel? Almost looks like it.

Leave a Reply

