Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Fit Recovery on Marriage:  Just Suit Up and Show Up, Enthusiastically.

Fit Recovery on Marriage:  Just Suit Up and Show Up, Enthusiastically.

October 2016
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

I have a very large, very Italian family.  I say this to let you know that my family is large, and I add the Italian part because being Italian is cool.  

Last night one of my cousins was married on the grounds of one of the largest mansions in the United States (top 10), and my wife and I were invited.  Our daughters went with friends and after our early morning 40 mile bike ride, a nap, breakfast, another nap.  On waking from nap two, we started talking about skipping the wedding to just hang out at home.

My wife had a trip-and-fall the other day and while she’s not quite damaged enough to keep her off a bike, she’s not exactly feeling very awesome either.  Still, I knew she wanted to go dancing – it’d been a while and I think it’s even in the Bible somewhere; Thou Shalt take Thy Wife Dancing…

So we decided to go and I suited up, because as a husband, that’s what I do.  I like to add “enthusiastically” because that’s how I want my wife to love me, enthusiastically.  This works.

The wedding was beautiful.  My wife and I always love weddings, remembering the day of our commitment to God, to love each other, enthusiastically, forever.

After a perfectly marvelous dinner and the obligatory wedding party dances, my wife and I danced, and I sang to her as well (yep, I can carry a tune).  After the first set of slow songs, the DJ kicked it up a bit…

My wife, mom, and sister

My brother-in-law and I joined them on the dance floor shortly after those photos were snapped. Because that what we do (and yes, I dance. Think Hitch, as Will Smith instructed, not as Kevin James did).

There once was a time when I wasn’t very enthusiastic about loving my wife.  Those were times we struggled.  Those were times I live my life on self-will.  Those were ugly, repugnant times.  

Today, I understand that there is an easy way and hard way to do marriage.  The easy way is to shelf my self-will and treat my wife as my Queen, enthusiastically.  It’s the only way I get to be King.  Enjoyably.

12 Comments

  1. jollof says:

    Congrats to your cousin! Fit recovery and Marriage are two topics I’d never have put together, lol. Enjoyed reading your post. Nice pics too.

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    Wonderful to see you outside of cycling. such a joyous occasion. Congrats to all including you and your wife!

    • bgddyjim says:

      Thank you! The big joke centered on how many showed up! Turned out, everyone was happy to finally get together for a joyous occasion. It was great to laugh and dance….

  3. Ya know, pictures are not proof that you can sing. There needs to be YouTube evidence. Just saying!

    It’s real obvious you two are both very happy, judging from the glow on both of your faces. So nice to see!

  4. fitnessgrad says:

    ooo look at that handsome man and his beautiful wife 🙂 love the pictures!

    Shay-lon

  5. JustI says:

    Very nice pic of you and your wife, & family. I almost didn’t recognize you without the bike helmet though 🙂

Leave a Reply

