Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Fit Recovery’s Cycling Dictionary:  The Unabashed Definition if Type II Diabetes

Fit Recovery’s Cycling Dictionary:  The Unabashed Definition if Type II Diabetes

October 2016
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

The Fit Recovery Cycling Dictionary defines Type II Diabetes thusly:

Type II Diabetes

tīp to͞o dīəˈbēdēz

Noun

Type II Diabetes is an avoidable disease in 90% of cases and is brought on by sloth, gluttony, and a complete failure to ride a bike.  Type II Diabetes can often be at least delayed or even avoided by losing just 7% of one’s body weight for a person who is overweight (that’s just 14 pounds for a 200 pound man, according to the link).

In other words, cut food consumption by 30%, ride an hour a day for a month or two and you’re healthy again.

Now sadly, it isn’t that easy in many cases.  It’s more like cut food consumption in half and ride a bike an hour a day during the week and three on weekends…  That’s about 80 pounds over a season.

Now, here’s the fun part:  90% of people who have Type II Diabetes will believe they are in the 10% who couldn’t help but end up with the disease.

wp-image-1992326298jpg.jpg

An entire gaggle of anti-type II diabetes machines parked outside, ironically, an ice cream shop.

6 Comments

  1. Of course, every ride should also end at the “Dairy Twist”…. LOL

  2. Brent says:

    I remember being headed towards Type 2 Diabetes as my weight crested 420 pounds over a decade ago. My doctor said I had all the warning signs. I decided not dying was a good thing and lost 150 pounds, but bounced between 250-270 for a decade, in good health but still not feeling well. There’s a world of difference between “nothing medically wrong with your health” and “feeling great.”

    So three years ago I started riding again for the first time since my 20s. A year and a half ago I bought a bike of a similar level of quality to Jim’s Venge. After a thorough computer fit, it felt like strapping on a fighter jet. I started riding with a club, and even though I am barely hanging on with the B- crowd, I’m still a lot faster than I was two years ago.

    My weight is now drifting downwards out of the 250-270 range without much effort, a few pounds per month as I am both riding and eating better. I just got a fancy Vitamix blender to make veggie and berry smoothies, to increase the percentage of my diet coming from natural raw sources.

    I can’t tell you the last time I had a full steak dinner with all the trimmings, which included enough fat to make me pass out when I got home like a drunk after a bender. While I still occasionally indulge a sweet tooth, it’s only rarely a problem to avoid my binge foods, typically ice cream and candy. By comparison, I used to eat a pint of Haagen-Dazs a night, often after eating a pound of peanut M&M’s out of my desk drawer at work.

    Now, I’m not worried about diabetes or many other ailments that I was formerly on a trajectory to get. Life’s a lot more fun as well. Took the fat bike to the local nature park at lunch today and got in 15 miles, which was a real treat because only a handful of people were out on the trails. What a great way to enjoy a late fall day with perfect weather instead of sitting inside and munching mindlessly!

Leave a Reply

