Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » I Performed an Exorcism on Exercise Myths… and it WORKED!  Five, almost Six Years Ago now…

I Performed an Exorcism on Exercise Myths… and it WORKED!  Five, almost Six Years Ago now…

October 2016
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

I wrote a post in my sixth day of writing this blog and it was a doozy.  Sadly, nobody saw it because nobody in the community knew me.  Back then, I maybe had six or eight people who read my blog.

Humorously, I’d forgotten I wrote the post myself…  Then Shay-lon stumbled on it and left me one long, well reasoned, and passionate comment on the post.  In that comment she suggested I reblog it to get it out there…

The post, before you read it, is a bulldozer for myths about exercise.  Please check it out:

Exorcising the Myths of Exercise… – http://wp.me/p248iZ-1m

……

1.  Fit people are “lucky” to be that way.

The reality is, for men, after attaining 30 years of age (maybe 33 on the late end), there is no such thing as luck except in rare instances  where good genes help.…..

2.  Running is bad for the knees and joints.

No it isn’t.  And I’ve used that one myself….

3.  Low impact exercise is better than running or “high” impact exercise.

That isn’t true either, though I’ve used that one too….

 

2 Comments

  1. I enjoyed your write-up and believe it’s spot on. There are a lot of excuses and understanding the facts around them is what helped get me going again about 6 years ago. Since then then I’ve accomplished things I never though possible.

Leave a Reply

