Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Final Tuesday Night Club Ride of 2016:  Night Ride Edition

Final Tuesday Night Club Ride of 2016:  Night Ride Edition

November 2016
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

It was unbelievably warm yesterday, all day.  I’d planned on playing hooky from work but that didn’t work out.

“Oh, yeah, I want to be my own boss so I can set my own schedule!  Woohoo!”

“Knock, knock.  This is f****n’ reality.  You do get to set your own schedule, and as long as you’re setting it to include more time at work, we’re good.”

I chose to wear a Sugoi Zapata jacket… because I’m an idiot sometimes.  I like the idea that, other than having to wear a jacket, it’s entirely covered with reflective dots… it’s about as close as you can get to a fully reflective as you can get without giving up an arm, leg or both.  I love that jacket… when it’s not 70 degrees outside at the start of the ride.
The problem here is that I didn’t trust the weather report that said the temp would remain stable and only drop to 63 by the time we’d finished.  Oops.

I donned that jacket and knew I was screwed within two miles when I started heating up.  In reaction I unzipped it, and the jacket became a wonderful, reflective parachute.

One thing that is not conducive to cycling fast is wearing a parachute.  Just in case you hadn’t figured this out yet.

Unfortunately, our causal night ride did not remain a casual night ride.  And I was wearing a parachute.  Oh, and if that wasn’t good enough, and it is, I decided that I wanted to make sure I didn’t get dropped when the pace ramped up so I spent way too much time at the front in the last ten miles.  Because sometimes I’m either not too smart or I have a little too much confidence in my abilities as a cyclist.

Long story short, remember that Snickers commercial where the dude playing football turns into Betty White?

Call me Betty.  Not really.

I had nothing left for the sprint by the time it was over.  I held on the best I could but I finished at the tail end of the first group.

Thankfully, I have very cool, graceful friends and it was handshakes and high-fives in the parking lot.

Either way, it was a blast of a ride and we couldn’t have asked for better conditions.  Normally we have to factor in frost bite on the final ride of the season.

5 Comments

  1. fitnessgrad says:

    Jim,
    I forget you accept awards on your blog, my apologizes if you do not, but I have chosen to nominate you for the black cat blue sea award, the link will provide details if you choose to do it: https://fitness9555.wordpress.com/2016/11/02/the-black-cat-blue-sea-award-2nd-time-woot/

    Shay-lon

    • bgddyjim says:

      Thanks Shay-lon. I’m a little selfish that way… I used to dig the awards. After the tenth one and answering 120 questions about myself, then nominating a bunch of other bloggers… It just got to be A LOT of work. I do appreciate it greatly and I’ll get to it shortly (I’ve got another in the cue already that I haven’t gotten around to yet. 😲🤗

      • fitnessgrad says:

        Oh! so you do accept awards, yay! 🙂 okay great! I wasn’t too sure, but since I know now that you do, I will keep it in mind! I figured this particular one I nominated you for is well deserved. Hopefully you enjoy the questions, luckily there is only 3. 😀
        I have had many people say they didn’t do awards anymore for the same reasons (repetitive and time consuming) lol. Which I can understand, especially since you have been blogging for way longer than myself. I told someone today, “I may need to turn into an award free blog one day if they keep streaming down like this” Lmao.

        Shay-lon

  2. OmniRunner says:

    We had about 45F last night for our Tuesday night run. It Was perfect. Soon it will be frost and ice.
    We run all year, so I’ve learned a thing or two about layering.
    Your season is over?

    • bgddyjim says:

      Not yet, Andy. It slows down, as you could imagine, but we’ll ride all the way through winter if we can find some clear roads or if the gravel roads aren’t too nasty.

      I used to love running between 55 and 65.

Leave a Reply

