Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Tick….tick….tick.  That Familiar Sound of a Specialized Venge.

Tick….tick….tick.  That Familiar Sound of a Specialized Venge.

November 2016
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Technically it’s the sound of a decent cassette body but that makes for a lousy post title….

I walked into the bike room to prep my Autumn/Rain bike for an evening spin… and there was my Venge just hanging on the wall.  I looked back at the Trek.  Then back to the Venge…

I can’t take riding the 5200 again.  It’s a great bike, don’t get me wrong, but my Venge is a rocket ship by comparison…  

I’ve got to feel that easy speed again.  The responsiveness when I press down on the pedals.  

I always laugh to myself whenever I read that familiar refrain:  “You don’t need to spend more than $800 on a road bike because…”

You may not, but I did, and for that I am grateful.  

Daddy’s taking out the big gun tonight.  I reached over and plucked the Venge from its hook.  The lightness of it, the ease of pulling it off the wall.  A wry smile stretched across my face.  Age, and a great job, has its privileges.  I set the Venge on the carpet and wheeled it out to the living room….

Tick… tick… tick… tick…

Honest, my pulse quickened.  

Whoever says, “It’s just a stupid bike”, never rode a high-end steed.  Not like I do.

Riding my Venge is everything that’s good about being an adult, a sober one at that, and making a good living.  It’s the best money I’ve ever spent on a toy.  

…..And tonight I’m going to enjoy that feeling once again.  

Because I can.

12 Comments

  1. unironedman says:

    Once you hear this

    You’ll have to bleach your ears! 😉

  2. Oh and I know what you mean about the sound of a sweet cassette hub purring away. I moved my TT bike this morning for whatever reason and the sound, oh it just make you wanna RIDE!

  3. I could sleep to the sound of a free hub.

    When did you change the graphics and pedals on that bike to pink?

Leave a Reply

