Fit Recovery

Home » Cycling » Know Thine Enemy…

Know Thine Enemy…

December 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Alcohol isn’t my enemy. Drugs aren’t my enemy.  Food isn’t my enemy.  Soda pop isn’t my enemy, nor is candy, sweets, cookies, cake, burgers, pizza, gluten, plant-based diets…

My enemy isn’t even that baby chainring on my Venge.

Pride. Envy. Wrath, Gluttony and Lust. Sloth and Greed.  Contempt prior to investigation. Ignorance. Anger and Arrogance… Now we’re getting somewhere.

My enemy is me, and as long as I remember that, I have a chance at being happy.

12 Comments

  1. Merry Men says:

    I’m so inspired! Thank you 🙂

  2. Gail says:

    This was great, and I loved the way you got to your point. Many of us (and a load of them are currently the wildly popular butt hurt crowd) are content with blaming outside influences rather than the obvious: Ourselves. So many things are out of our control, but not the really important stuff. Great reminder. Yuuuggge reminder.

  3. Head4Fitness says:

    Great succinct post that hits the nail well and truly on the proverbial head.

  4. Archetype says:

    As the ancient saying goes We are our own worst enemies for sure Jim!
    I think having the self-awareness is at least a step in the right direction.
    Another classic; Mind over matter… sort of in the same vein.

  5. Archetype says:

    *vain*

  6. saoirsek says:

    ain’t that the truth. Thanks for the post Jim. I have to be so careful this time of year not to fall into the “poor me” frame of thinking(everyone is out having fun, I’m different, blah de blah). extra meetings all round for me. Sending you and your family the very best for the new year, Also word of warning, I was just discussing with unironed man the chances of doing a duathlon this year instead of triathlon so I may have your ear bent;-)

    • bgddyjim says:

      All the best from my family to yours, thank you! As for the Duathlon, my friend Mike participates in those quite often… while I find it difficult to want to mess up a perfectly good bike ride, I do recognize the desire in others to do so. Even if I don’t “get it”. Chuckle. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

